Safita

Last night, my mom, brother, and I took my step-dad out to dinner for an early Father’s Day meal.  My mom chose Safita, a middle eastern restaurant in Fairfield.  It opened fairly recently (winter?) and I’ve been dying to try it.

When we sat down, we were give pita bread, green olives, olive oil, and za’tar spices.  The pita wasn’t the chewy, fluffy kind I love, but you could tell it was house-made, which is always appreciated.

We ordered two appetizers.  The vegetarian kibbeh:

“Cracked wheat shell, stuffed with spinach and chickpeas.”

This. Was. Amazing.  There were whole chickpeas, as well as mashed, and an equal amount of freshly cooked spinach.  I’m not sure what the sauce was – a little tangy and spicy, but so great!

The chicken rolls, however, were definitely the better of two amazing appetizers.  Unfortunately, I didn’t snap a picture, but essentially they were roasted, shaved chicken meat wrapped up in crunchy, wheaty rolls.  They came with a dipping sauce that was simply delicious.  It was tart and tangy, and my mom and I were scooping it up straight from the serving dish.  My mom couldn’t put her finger on the tastes, but I thought balsamic and raspberry.  Clearly we didn’t pay too much attention to the menu at the time, since this is the description: “Chicken, onion, pomegranate juice, and sumac rolls.”  So I was close!  The waiter told us pomegranate and balsamic.  I’ll have to look up what sumac is since the only thing that comes to mind is a poisonous bush.

Everyone loved their entrees as well.  Lamb shawarma for my step-dad, chicken shawarma for my mom, and the mixed grill for the brother, which came with chicken, beef, and lamb.  I definitely won the best food award I make up in my mind at every restaurant, though, with my Branzini aka Mediterranean sea bass.  OH DAMN IT WAS SO GOOD.  There’s no description for it, as it was a special, but I was given  quite the large portion of fish with a beet salad.  This is after I ate half:

Those blobs of sauce on my beets and on the side are a creamy yogurt-tahini sauce.  Yes, it’s amazing too.  I left this for tonight’s dinner just because I wanted to taste it again.  I could have easily finished it all in the moment, but I’m glad I didn’t.  After sitting for a few minutes I was perfectly satisfied with the pita, piece of kibbeh, chicken roll, and half my entree.  Not overly stuffed, which is always a nice feeling.

The food didn’t feel heavy or greasy in my stomach at all.  Lactose intolerance win!  We had the Safita Special Blend Tea after dinner – “Hot tea made of a special blend of herbal mixtures including caramom (similar to ginger) and irfeh.”  Hmm, well I know what cardamom is but have no clue about irfeh.  Let’s google.

Ok, looks like it’s Arabic for “cinnamon.”  Funny, mostly I just smelled and tasted honey.  It was the perfect sweetness and so pretty!

LOOK AT THE TEENY SPOON!

That’s not tiny, that’s TEENY.  I want one!

Not only because of the tiny spoon, but this was the best meal I’ve had in a long time.  Probably since I went to Italy three years ago.  I am going back ASAP.  My dad would love it.  I already texted two of my friends that we’re going, they don’t have a choice.  It was all just so delicious.

If you live in Fairfield county, GO TO SAFITA.  You will not be disappointed by the food, the service, the decor, or the food.  Again.

3 comments
    • Brynne said:

      Sure. And, sure, I already starred the recipe.

Leave a Reply

