The New Year

Hola chiquitas!

Welcome to the new year! Not to be cliche, but I want to actually BLOG this year and keep it yo – I need to commit. Stop posting a few days in a row and then not again for months. Another one of my goals? Be more positive. So, everyday in 2011 I’m going to find something positive in my day, something to be thankful for, something that made me smile, etc. Hopefully finding something to be happy about everyday, even if it’s something small, will make 2011 a great year!

Sooo I hope everyone had a fun start to the new year! I went over to one of my bestie’s houses for a casual dinner feast and some quality Apples to Apples playing.Β  We snacked on veggies and hummus while setting up the legit feast of:

  • Penne with my friend’s stepdad’s pesto – THE BEST EVER
  • Penne with butternut squash and red onion
  • Mixed green salad
  • My creation of chickpeas, feta, red onion, tomatoes, and kale
  • AMAZING Spanish tortilla – a frittata-like traditional dish with eggs, onion, potatoes, sweet potatoes, and a sauce of sour cream, chives, lemon juice, and salt

After round one, we moved backwards to “dessert” – the appetizer course of a cheese plate with manchego, brie (my lover), and a casual $23 block of the sharpest, most delicious cheddar I’ve ever had, crackers, and a baguette. We also had shrimps and cocktail sauce and more of the veggies and hummus. Yeah. Feast. I also sipped on a few pineapple gin & tonics throughout the night, plus of course, champagne as the ball dropped.

After starting off the year grocery and birthday shopping, I am RELAXING with my much-needed three day weekend. Holidays in retail are fun but sooo exhausting. Re-watching Dexter, reading, shopping, and of course, celebrating getting old turning 23 are all on the agenda.

So, my first nugget of happiness in 2011? Technically it’s from last year – but, at the gym yesterday morning, I was resting between sets on one of the bicep machines, when a middle-aged guy comes up to me and says “You know you look like you should be working here, right?” and continues on to say that if you work at a gym, “you should look better than me.” THANK YOU KIND SIR, for making my year.

3 comments
  1. Kristi said:

    Ohhh… Apples to Apples… love that game.

  2. I’m glad to hear from you, B!
    It sounds like you really had an amazing NYE πŸ™‚
    So excited about the “more regular posting”.
    Can’t wait!
    Happy New Year πŸ™‚
    xoxo

  3. Glad you are back and ready to post more!! Being more positive is one of my goals as well.

    Oh yea.. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

