Two-Ingredient Tomato Soup

This camera is fun. It makes me want to take pictures and post – maybe that’s why I can’t keep up a consistency with the blog? Yes, I must need a GOOD camera.

Since it’s so cold and windy today, soup was definitely on the menu for the lunch. Some tomato soup was necessary in my life. A quick glance into the pantry led me to a can of Campbell’s – a comforting classic! Too bad I find the thoughts of HFCS just about the opposite of comforting …

IMG_0162.JPG
Ingredient fail.

Then I had a thought – I could probably make tomato soup! I mean, really, it can’t be more than just tomatoes, which we have in various forms throughout the kitchen and pantry. A quick consultation to my Whole Foods recipes app on my iPod was surprisingly disappointing, so I just made it up.

 

IMG_0156.JPGIMG_0157.JPG IMG_0159.JPG

Two Ingredient Tomato Soup

  • Mini can of Hunt’s tomato paste
  • 1.5c of vegetable stock

Directions:

  • Empty tomato paste can into a bowl.
  • Boil a cup and a half of water and dissolve bouillion cube into it.
  • Combine.

If you want to get technical, the water and vegetable boullion cube could make it three-ingredients, but since you have to combine them to make the stock, we’ll just count it.

I topped my soup with steamed broccoli and some nutritional yeast.

IMG_0169.JPG
And rounded out the meal:
IMG_0171.JPG
Whole wheat wrap with pepper turkey, Laughing Cow, red onion, and sprouts + Triscuits, celery, and garlic salted hummus.
I mean, I don’t have any High Fructose Corn Syrup hanging around in my cabinets but it was still pretty delicious.
Must. Have. Rebel.
1 comment
  1. Caroline said:

    Just two ingredients? Sounds perfect for when you don’t have time to cook but still want to eat something delicious!

Leave a Reply

