Shrimp, Spaghetti Squash, and Soft Serve

Guys, seriously, I was SO productive today! I woke up wayyyy too early for a day off (6:45) but I don’t mind – since before 11am I had:

  • Sorted clothes to throw out and give away
  • Organized my dresser
  • Done laundry (even my SHEETS!)
  • Eaten a delish breakfast:

P8020911.JPG P8020912.JPG
WW toast
with plain Laughing Cow and two eggs + two egg whites, a nectarine, and strawberries

At 11, I had a root canal 😦 Fast forward two hours, 5 shots of novocaine, and a prescription for some intense painkillers, I continued my busy day with more errands, appointments, and a stop at the mall. Unfortunately, an entirely numb mouth and tongue left me with the inability to taste, chew, and talk without drooling. I tried eating a sliced Gala midafternoon – fail. Needless to say, it was more than a few hours until I finally got my tastebuds/feeling/appetite back for dinner. Having missed out on lunch, I was craving my usual noon-time meal.

P8030917.JPG
La Tortilla Factory WW wrap
with pepper turkey, avocado, red onion, S&P; carrots, broccoli, and roasted garlic hummus

P8030915.JPGP8030916.JPG

Plus a side salad of mixed greens, tomato, mushrooms, and a new dressing – Trader Joe’s Champagne Pear Vinaigrette with Gorgonzola! And an unpictured Dr. Kracker’s Sunflower Cheddar Flatbread! The dressing was good – sweet, almost like a honey dijon, with visible chunks of gorgonzola. Definitely try it if you can find it. The cilantro is still my favorite, though :0).

Other notable bites over the past few days:

P7300887.JPGP7300888.JPG
Celery
, carrots, and cucumbers with salsa hummus for dipping

Recipe? Huge blob of hummus + a lot of salsa. Easy peasy.

P8010897.JPG
Peanut Butter Puffins with strawberries and almond milk

P8010898.JPG
Buffalo tofu with romaine and two LC Blue Cheese wedges on a WW wrap

This I was actually proud of! I had drained a block of tofu last week and had the slices sitting in the fridge, waiting for an idea for them to pop into my head. And it did – I just sprayed a pan with Pam, doused the tofu in Frank’s before, during, and after cooking – maybe a little less than 10 minutes total on both sides? Just till they looked brown and crispy – sooo good!

Oh. Wait. This was even better.

P8020908.JPG P8020909.JPG P8020910.JPG

I had half of a spaghetti squash I needed to use up. I had just bought shrimp. I love peas. And cheese.

Shrimppea Spaghetti Squash

  • 1/2 baked spaghetti squash (about 2 cups)
  • 1.5 cups of thawed frozen shrimp
  • 3/4 cup of thawed frozen peas
  • Two Light Swiss Laughing Cow wedges

Rinse the frozen shrimp in a colander under cold water until they’re thawed out. Meanwhile (if it’s not just-baked), microwave the squash and peas until both are warm – be sure to mix the spaghetti squash around once in a while so that it heats up evenly. When the shrimp are thawed, throw all of the ingredients into a bowl, microwave for about another minutes, mix, and enjoy! I also added several shakes of fresh ground pepper – the cheese makes the dish perfectly salty and creamy. The pepper just brings out all of the flavors. Seriously, I LOVED this! So sad I’m out of spaghetti squash now.

Oh, I had toast and a salad too.

I continued the epic-ness with dessert. Something I’ve tried (and loved) before. Something popular all over the blog world. Something cold, creamy, and delicious.

P8010905.JPG
Chocolate Banana Soft Serve

Last summer I used our decades-old Oster blender to make Gena’s famous frozen fruit concoction. While the ultimate goal was achieved, it took forever and was still a bit chunky. Our new mini food processor made me extremely excited to try again!
  • Two frozen bananas
  • One tablespoon cocoa powder
  • Chopped almonds

Bomb. More chocolate next time. As in, later tonight. Off to eat dinner #2 of many, watch True Blood, and get ready for tomorrow. Have a great night!

18 comments
  1. I am really enjoying your blog. Your pics are so vivid and bright. You seem like a neat person.

    • Brynne said:

      haha well thank you so much!

  2. kbwood said:

    ooo i love that softserve! SOO good with PB added too!!! that is crazy about your mouth girl- glad you can eat real food now! haha

    • Brynne said:

      yes it was torture! i made up for it by stuffing my face all night long .. DMing you now!

  3. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) said:

    the spaghetti squash dish looks amazing! i am jealous- i want to tryyy 🙂 delicious combo of flavors! all of your eats are so colorful. & the soft serve looks so yummmm

  4. I feel like I need to get on the True Blood bandwagon.

    And banana soft serve is the bomb.com:)

  5. You were crazy productive! I’m way jealous. And your food looks yummy like always – especially that softserve! Way to give me cravings girl! 🙂

  6. A few months back I got a cavity filled, and I remember how annoying it was to have a numb mouth for the majority of the day :/ I was starving but thought I’d knaw my tongue off if I tried eating, haha!

    Your banana soft serve looks PHENOM!

  7. Your eats look delish! Sorry about the root canal 😦 I just had a tooth implant procedure and I hated be numbed up!! Hope you’re feeling better!

    ~Alyssa

  8. Sorry about your mouth. Going to the dentist is the worst!
    Love your tofu wrap! I can’t seem to get enough and I am always interested to find new ways to prepare it!

  9. Taylor said:

    just found your blog and i love it! beautiful eats :]

    i’m lucky, i inherited perfect teeth from my dad. i’ve only had one cavity in my entire life! i DID have to have braces though…not fun

  10. Hey love! When are you going to come to Meriden and cook for me?! LOL! Can’t wait to see you this weekend at HLS! I watch TrueBlood too! I was a little disappointed last night though.

  11. Megan said:

    Super jealous of your productivity! And I loooove choco banana softserve. Sometimes I add in protein powder too and it’s even better!

  12. Kat said:

    LOVING the Chocolate-variation on Banana soft-serve w/ almonds! Will need to try this for-sure lady!

  13. your softserve covers my heart in sweetness lol. the almonds look so crunchy sprinkled ontop too!!

    mmm a wrap is what i need so badly right now ❤

    hope ur having a wonderful friday love!

Leave a Reply

