Traveling Breakfast

Having a full-time job (yay!) and an hour+ commute both ways (boo) has left me to figure out a whole different kind of time management than I’m used to. Instead of scheduling time for homework and lunch in between classes, meetings, and internships, I’m trying to schedule sleep and gym time in between commuting, working, eating, and seeing my friends. It’s definitely not easy and I’m nowhere near perfecting the art. And I won’t be until at least 6 hours are added to the day. Or they discover a (legal and safe) drug that allows you not to sleep. Until then, I have to find ways to not feel stressed out and rushed every hours of the day. One solution I’ve found (and I know Anne agrees) is to pre-pack meals. She has some great tips and recipes for lunches, but I’ve been preparing my breakfasts the night before too.

As tired as I am at night, it’s worth it take some extra time in the kitchen after a long day than rushing around it, running late in the morning. I’ve been alternating between driving to work and taking the train and either way, overnight oats have been my morning meal of choice.

P7190769.JPG P7190770.JPG
Chobani, oats, blueberries, chopped almonds

Eaten on the train or less preferably, in the car when I miss the train … Of course, sometimes I just want some eggs and, however refreshing, a CFY won’t fill the need. Enter: the microwave omelet.

Step One: Crack desired amounts of egg/egg whites into a mug – here, two whole eggs + two egg whites:

P7150739.JPG

Step Two: Add your morning vegetables and cheese of choice – here, spinach and feta:
P7150743.JPG
Step Three: Microwave for about a minute and a half, check for liquid, and microwave for about another minute if necessary:
P7150744.JPG
Step Four: Empty onto tortilla, wrap up, and go!
P7150745.JPG

Eaten on the train with Dr. Kracker Apple Crisps and a nectarine. Plus blueberry coffee.

Of course, on mornings off, time to make REAL omelets is a luxury I do not give up.

P7180767.JPGAlvarado St. Bakery Sprouted WW toast, peach with cinnamon, two egg + two egg white omelet with spinach and feta, topped with sea salt and pepper

Breakfast also continuously shows up in the form of snacks:

P7210797.JPGBarbara’s Peanut Butter Puffins, blueberries, almond milk

Peanut Butter Puffins? A bit overrated in the blogging community, but still pretty good! A lot bigger than I expected, which makes them kind of difficult to eat – but they are crunchy, peanut buttery, and don’t rip up the roof of your mouth!

P7240826.JPG
Alvarado St. Bakery Sprouted WW toast, two light swiss Laughing Cows, two eggs over medium + two egg whites, blueberries.

Also, I can’t stop eating blueberries. If you hadn’t noticed.

And just for fun.

Untitled.jpgP7210802.JPGBlouse: Rosebud Belt: Forevs Shorts: Abercrombie & Fitch

Back tomorrow (promise!) with a lunch post! Until then, I’ll be on Lamebook .. I just can’t stop reading. Some of my other favorite time wasters that make me laugh are People of Walmart and Awkward Family Photos. Hilarious! What are some of your favorite websites?

16 comments
    • Brynne said:

      Thanks! Totally agree about breakfast and berries πŸ™‚

      I’m working at a local clothing store/boutique I guess? I’ve been shopping there for years!

  1. I really like that white shirt you are wearing.
    What kind of internship are you on?

    I have been loving yogurt messes too for snacks…oats, banana, berries, yogurt, walnuts, and tons of coconut flakes was a recent combination I liked. Its neat to make massive bowls (take forever to eat!).

    Long commutes suck. You have a good attitude about it.

    • Brynne said:

      Thank you! I got it at Francesca’s Collection if you have one near you? They have a website, too! I’m actually working my real person life full time job, not an internship πŸ™‚

      I ALMOST bought coconut flakes the other day! I think I am definitely going to on my next grocery trip – there’s sooo many things I can think to add them to πŸ™‚

      Sometimes the commute is annoying, other times it’s nice – time to myself, time to eat on the train and read, blog, people watch, etc.

  2. Ugh. I’m having such a hard time lately with time management as well. I can never seem to schedule things right, and I always end up running around like crazy and then thinking that I should be doing something different while I’m doing what I’m doing. I used to say that I missed being busy, but now I’m gonna go ahead and say that I miss having free time! Why can’t I ever have that balance that I want? πŸ˜‰

  3. Wow, I just spent way too much time looking at lamebook. So awesome haha, thanks for introducing me to it!!

    Having a new (busy) schedule is always tough, but it sounds like you’re settling into it well. Overnight oats are the best for travel, I agree!

    Hope your week is off to a terrific start love!! xoxo

  4. katie anne said:

    haha i see a new addicion…lamebook! ive never heard about it before!!!!
    im also craving eggs right now!!!!!:-) xoxo

    • katie anne said:

      omg “awkward family pics” im lmao!!!!!!!!!!

  5. you look absolutely adorable! I love seeing outfit pics!

    Delish eats…overnight oats are definitely the way to go for busy mornings!

  6. 1. Love the top. πŸ™‚
    2. I totally agree that Peanut Butter Puffins are overrated. I’d rather just suck up the fake sugars and over-processing and eat Peanut Butter Cap’n Crunch.
    3. Once I tried to make a microwave omelette in my classroom at school. Although it tasted great, it smelled like eggs for the rest of the day. Let’s just say the kids were NOT alright.

  7. Rachel said:

    aww i love that skinny belt.
    haha i feel like a real idiot but i tried your fast omlette recipe in the mug today and was so suprised eggs could form like that- without any baking powder or anything! aha.
    it was really good too! with some hot sauce and mustard :]
    ppl watch on a train would be neat. i’ve never ridden in a train and have always wanted to. hope you have a great day!

  8. Meg said:

    I like cinnamon Puffins πŸ˜€ PB ones are AMAZING in yogurt though! I love love love summer berries – your breakfasts all look amazing and time saving!

    Hope you have an amazing week!

    I LOVE People of Walmart hahaha!

  9. Meg said:

    OH and failblog.org – that site is the sheeeeet!

  10. Darling – are we dinner-ing tomorrow night? Love the outfit. Next on my list: stopping in coincidentally when you’re at work πŸ˜‰

  11. I pack my husband’s lunch every night while making dinner, but when I lived alone I would actually pack 3 days of lunches at a time! Crazy!

    Love these lunch packs!

Leave a Reply

