First Day ‘Fit .. and Food

This post has no theme. Other than good food.

P7090603.JPG

A random veggie wrap I ate the other day that was so good I needed to share it:

  • La Tortilla Factory WW tortilla
  • Roasted red pepper hummus
  • Roasted garlic hummus
  • Mixed greens
  • Tomatoes
  • Red onion
  • Mushrooms
  • Balsamic vinegar

Yes, two kinds of hummus. So basic but so good.

Obviously I needed something extra special for my first day of work on Saturday!

P7090617.JPG

  • Two slices WW toast with plain Laughing Cow and micro-ed frozen raspberries
  • Spinach and feta omelet

Sweet + savory + coffee = perfect fuel for my first day!

I LOVE packing lunches and now I get to do it again! There were three parts:

Part One: Veggie and Hummus WrapP7090624.JPG
Roasted garlic hummus, mixed greens, sprouts, mushrooms, cucumber, red onion

Part Two: Carrot Cake Clif Bar
P7090626.JPG

Part Three: CruditΓ©
P7090628.JPG
Dr. Kracker’s Seeded Spelt, carrot sticks, Mozarella, Sun-Dried Tomato, & Basil LCs (x2)

The caprese-themed Laughing Cows are really good! I could definitely taste the tomato and basil flavors – plus they’re pink! Great on both the carrots and the crackers.

First day ‘fit:

P7090613.JPG P7090631.JPG
Blouse: Eight Sixty Jeans: AG Sandals: Steve Madden Nails: Shift Power by Essie

Dinner was seriously FULL of vegetables. Like, ridiculously.

P7100640.JPG
Monster roasted vegetable salad with mixed greens, BBQ chicken, broccoli, tomatoes, carrots, green beans, and mushrooms

P7100642.JPG P7100646.JPG
Grillz. Sweet potato, zucchini, red onion.

Have you ever grilled a sweet potato? Do it.

Can’t get enough cereal with blueberries and almond milk. Night time snack #1 while watching It’s Complicated. Seriously, such a good movie and hilarious! Meryl Streep, Steve Martin, Alec Baldwin, and John Krasinski? Amazing cast. Even more so when I pretend that John Krasinski didn’t marry Emily Blunt yesterday and his future plans include marrying ME in Italy. Snack #2 was a Gingerade Kombucha and enough popcorn to feed a third world country .. and more Alec Baldwin in the form of “30 Rock”.

P7100648.JPG

I actually didn’t even remember what day of blueberry oatmeal pancakes this was until I saw the pictures right after it. It’s from this morning.

P7100652.JPG

After a GREAT half hour run on the treadmill (took yesterday off – always have such a good workout the day after a rest day), I stopped at Trader Joe’s. It had been far, far too long. Note that we went to the regular grocery store this morning.

P7110653.JPG

TJ’s Haul:

  • Feta
  • Unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • Green tea with mint
  • Peanut butter puffins (first time trying them!)
  • Cilantro dressing (beyond amazing)
  • Island Teriyaki sauce/marinade
  • Shrimp
  • Veggie and hummus roll-up
  • Clif bars
  • Smoked salmon
  • Stir fry veggies

So excited for lunches this week! And dinners. And snacks. And breakfast, because it will probably be oatmeal pancakes everyday.

Lunch today:

P7110654.JPG
Wrap with pepper turkey,Β Β sprouts, and plain Laughing Cow; carrots with roasted garlic hummus; Dr. Kracker’s Seeded Spelt

P7110656.JPG
Mixed greens
with steamed broccoli and TJ’s Cilantro dressing

This is the best dressing ever if you’re a cilantro lover. Which I am. It’s creamy, cool, cheesy (parmesan?), with a little bit of a kick to it. It’s okay if you don’t like cilantro – it’s not your fault. Apparently, some people have the “cilantro-lover” gene and some people have the gene that makes cilantro taste like soap. My brother and dad get Irish Spring mouth while me and my mom are lucky enough to have functioning taste buds.

Snackage:

P7110657.JPG
Queso Fresco and Chipotle Laughing Cow
x2 on WW toast

This is the bread I’ve been using lately:

P7110659.JPG
Alvarado Street Bakery Sprouted Whole Wheat Bread

It’s whole wheat, vegan, sweetened with fruit juice (aka naturally!), thick and hearty – big slices! It’s pretty much amazing. I definitely suggest it and I can’t wait to try some other varieties – they have flax, I think spelt, cinnamon raisin, and a few more.

The Queso Fresco and Chipotle Laughing Cows are great too! They definitely have a Southwest taste to them with a little bit of a kick! I’m thinking they’d be great in a quesadilla!

Oh yeah – work! It was great πŸ™‚ I’m working all this week Monday to Friday. I actually have a life! Honestly, the women and girls that I worked with yesterday are all friendly, patient, and more than willing to help me learn. It was such a fun day that went by so quickly. At home, my days kind of drag on and sometimes I’m surprised only half an hour has passed. Not a problem at work – especially in retail, when I’m on my feet and always occupied. LOVE being busy. I’m so excited for this week πŸ™‚

25 comments
  1. Jealous that you went to Trader Joe’s and of that delicious looking veggie bowl…but Amen for grilled sweet potatoes πŸ™‚

    PS. I love packing lunches too. If only I had a job for which to pack a lunch at the moment…

    • Brynne said:

      The veggie roll up is my favoriteeee thing to buy at TJ’s – haven’t seen them at all the locations though. Guess I can never move!

      Don’t worry – you’ll find a job. If I did (one month after getting laid off from my FIRST job that I worked at for a month) you can.

  2. I always love to see other bloggers shop at TJ’s – I’m a faithful TJ shopper! πŸ™‚

    I love your sandals. They are so cute! Hope you had a wonderful weekend!

    • Brynne said:

      Me too! Such good quality food at college student/graduate prices .. aka CHEAP! Thanks :0) Got them on intense sale!

  3. kat said:

    o and what does laughing cow taste like ?:-P

  4. I’ve heard of those new laughing cow cheeses. I’m glad you like that flavor.
    Love your eats and I also agree with you about John Krasinski..he is adorable!

    • Brynne said:

      All the new flavors are so good! Definitely try them!

  5. I miss Laughing Cow! It’s been so long since I’ve had it, and I seriously don’t know why. I guess I’ve been kind of stuck on cream cheese and jam lately. But I totally agree about the sweet + savory combos… Most of my lunches consist of one slice of savory bread and one slice of sweet bread. Great way to satisfy cravings all around πŸ™‚

    • Brynne said:

      The original LCs are great with jam too! Especially since I don’t like cream cheese, they’re perfect πŸ™‚

  6. I LOVE Alvarado Street bread! Their sourdough is amazing if you haven’t tried it. And I’ve absolutely been known to make two grocery trips in a day….how can you ever resist a TJ’s visit? Hope you have a wonderful Monday love!! xoxo

    • Brynne said:

      I definitely didn’t see sourdough at the store! Def need to find it. TJ’s is irresistable .. especially when your family doesn’t eat the same things you do AT ALL. Hope you enjoyed your Monday darling!

  7. kat said:

    what does laughing cow taste like

    • Brynne said:

      The original is labeled “Swiss” but to me it just tastes like a really mild cheddar almost? It’s hard to describe. Then each flavor pretty much tastes like what they’re named .. French Onion, Garlic & Herb, Blue Cheese, Mozarella, Tomato & Bail, and Queso Fresco & Chipotle. Alllll delicious!

  8. Katie said:

    Aren’t those carrot cake clif bars heaven?! They’re my absolute favorite. Also, I’m a major cilantro lover, I bet that dressing is ridiculous – I wish I had a TJs close!

    • Brynne said:

      They’re pretty good but nothing beats real carrot cake! Ugh seriously my favorite. It’s going to be my wedding cake.

      I would be more than happy to ship you some TJ’s goodies sometime πŸ™‚

  9. Wahooo new job πŸ™‚ I’m so proud. Mine’s coming. I can feeeeel it! and btw: pancakes – saturday morning? Okay. Good.

  10. Megan said:

    That veggie wrap looks amazing! And I lovelovelove your sandals πŸ™‚

  11. Lele said:

    Whoo lady that dinner is the most vegetables I have ever seen in a single meal! Go you! You got your nutrients for sure!

    I just got my first job since graduating and feel the SAME WAY about liking being busy and seeing the time go by much more quickly. And I am the same way about loving to pack work lunches. They are fun!

    • Brynne said:

      Haha I LOVE vegetables. And volume eating.

  12. So first of all, how do you make your pancakes? Because they look amazing! Well Ok, all of your food looks amazing. So jealos of the TJ’s haul!

    • Brynne said:

      I’ll go over the pancakes again next post! And thank you!

  13. kbwood said:

    Oh man! dying to find the new laughing cow wedges!

  14. All of your eats look so so good! I’m salivating over here!!

    I seriously need to get my booty to a TJ’s like now. Hope your first day of work went well (:

    • Brynne said:

      Haha thank you πŸ™‚ And yes, TJ’s is always necessary. He’s just too, too good to me!

Leave a Reply

