Lessons Learned

Lesson #1: Splitting breakfast up into three smaller portions of three wonderful things results in an extremely satisfying and tasty meal.

P7060581.JPG P7060582.JPG P7060583.JPG
Kashi Heart to Heart with blueberries and almond milk; a plum; a messy, messy egg on a piece of millet with a Garlic & Herb LC wedge

Lesson #2: Buffalo and blue cheese is still one of the world’s best combinations. Even when it is in an non-traditional way:

P7040516.JPG P7040521.JPG  P7060585.JPG
LightLife Buffalo Chicken Strips + two LC Blue Cheese wedges, romaine, Frank’s hot sauce on a WW La Tortilla Wrap [plus unpictured carrots and Dr. Kracker’s Seeded Spelts]

Lesson #3: Brownie mix is in no way photogenic:

P7070588.JPG

In related news, Emily can’t do yoga. Both literally and in the sense that she is not allowed to even attempt a pose with me ever again.

Lesson #4: Even in horrible lighting, grill marks make food look better:

P7070589.JPG
Grilled eggplant, tofu, and zucchini; roasted green beans, mushrooms, and carrots; two slices of millet glory

Lesson #5: Go for the gold.

P7080595.JPG
Essie Shift Power

Lesson #6: Nectarines > Peaches. Especially when warm and caramelized.

P7080597.JPG P7080598.JPG
Oatmeal Nectarine Pancakes. I die.

Lesson #7: Hard-scoop froyo is not even worth it. Soft serve is where it’s at. Ask before ordering.

IMG00109-20100707-1535.jpg
Not worth the money hard scoop vanilla frozen yogurt.

Lesson #8: Things get better. Already, the second half of 2010 is looking up. A couple days ago, one of my best friends came home from studying abroad in Ireland – yesterday we met up at Panera for dinner and did some shopping. Tonight we’re going out for dinner and drinks with some other friends. She can always cheer me up and is always there for me, no matter what. I love her and I know that we will always stay in touch – even when she is a lawyer in Ireland? It’s fine.

Oh, and – I GOT A JOB! I didn’t mention it last week because I didn’t want disappointment/to get my hopes up on the blog, but I had an interview for a co-managing position at a boutique I’ve loved and have been shopping at since high school. Yesterday I went in to meet with another one of the women in charge and left with an employee manual! I start tomorrow :0)

This year is teaching me so, so much. I truly believe that everything happens for a reason and that we are all here for a reason. Everyone has problems but we can get past them. This summer I’ve already learned a TON about myself – and it’s only July! I think the most important thing that I’ve realized – and I hope you do too – is that MOST of the time, being in a bad mood is a CHOICE. Obviously life happens, things get in the way, people make you angry and upset, life is unfair – but please, please, just TRY to DECIDE to not let it get you down. Go for a run, buy yourself a new dress, get your nails done, AND MOVE ON.

Life is too short to be anything but happy.

On that note, have a FABULOUS day muffins :0)

P.S. I’ve noticed a lot of people finding my blog by searching about Zach, so here’s a link to the Facebook group in his memory. Information about his memorial can be found there. Again, thank you all SO MUCH for your continued support and kind words. Again, I really can’t tell you how much it means to me.

20 comments
  1. kbwood said:

    girl CONGRATS ON YOUR JOB!!! SOOO excited for YOU!! you are gona ROCK IT!!!!! umm hello DELISH WRAP!! whered u find those LC wedges? I MUST FIND NOW!! those sound AWESOME!

  2. janetha said:

    congrats on the job. have a great weekend. ā¤

  3. devan said:

    congrats on your job! šŸ˜€

    your oatmeal pancakes look. SO. gooood!

  4. Congratulations on your job! I can’t wait to hear more about it!
    Your nails look great! Never thought to wear gold but it looks great on you!

    • Brynne said:

      Thank you! I know I didn’t think I could pull it off either – try it!

  5. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) said:

    i am so happy to hear about how much you’ve learned & how happy you are!! I also believe that eveyrthing happens for a reason. & that blue cheese/wings combo sounds amazing- i love those new laughing cows šŸ™‚

    xoxox

  6. *Andrea* said:

    congrats on your job!!! one of my friends just passed her nursing boards and is now ready to hang out again and i get the same happiness from her as it seems you do from your friends. we laugh and just enjoy each other!

    love the wrap! healthy spin on one of my old favorite bar foods…buffalo tenders with blue cheese dressing!

    • Brynne said:

      Buffalo chicken is my favoriteeeee food in all the world, so I love that I can make it healthy too!

  7. lol cute post! Your pancakes are making me drool and I’ve always loved nectarines wayyy more than peaches. Psh. All your food looks delish! You wanna cook for me sometime? (:

    • Brynne said:

      Haha sure, where do you live?! I always thought I liked peaches more .. but I’m pretty sure I thought nectarines WERE peaches. Now I know.

  8. Congrats on the job, girlie! That’s super exciting. I feel like I should be looking for one for the summer, as well, but things have been so crazy busy lately that I don’t know how I would fit work in there too! Eek. I’m glad to hear that things are going so well for you, though, and that life is looking up ) That’s definitely the way it should be.

    And that pancake stack? Omg I hate you =X

    • Brynne said:

      No girl, you’re shadowing that RD! I wish you could write about that more, I’m dyinggg for some insight into that job!

      Amanda, seriously, I’m about to make the pancakes and ship them to you. How much do you think overnighting something perishable with ice packs to Canada would cost?

  9. Kate said:

    congrats on your job! very exciting and i am so glad that you are looking forward to the second half of 2010. those funks always lift!

    and how did i not know about the laughing cow blue cheese? i effing love blue cheese!

    • Brynne said:

      thank you so much! and they’re new – and delicious šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

