Baby There’s a Shark in the Water

Good morning sunshines!

Yesterday my goal was to try something new at every meal – achieved! Breakfast started with my new favorite, oatmeal pancakes, but I tried out a new fruit with them:

P7050572.JPG P7050576.JPG

Peaches are delicious. Oatmeal pancakes are delicious. The combination is doubly delicious.

  • 2/3c old fashioned oats
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • couple shakes of cinnamon (more than usual, since peaches + cinnamon = love)
  • 2/3 chopped peach in the mix

Frosting:

  • 1 plain Fage
  • 1 packet Stevia In the Raw
  • More cinnamon

Topped with the last third of the peach, sliced. Warm peaches, chewy oats, sweet, cinnamon-y, thick yogurt – I die.

After digesting, I headed to the gym to break in my new Asics. With the hottest two days of the year being yesterday and today (yesterday felt like 106 at its highest point, I think), breaking them in on the trail was not even an option. I did a hilly 5k to some great new tunes. Some that keep me really going lately:

  • Physical – Glee cast version
  • Love the Way You Lie – Eminem and Rhianna
  • Dynamite – Taio Cruz
  • Magic – B.O.B
  • Shark in the Water – V V Brown
  • Can’t Be Tamed – Miley Cyrus
  • My First Kiss – 3OH3! and Ke$ha

Lunch was sushi with my dad! BlackBerry pics ahead.

IMG00105-20100706-1303.jpg
House salad with the best ginger dressing ever.

Of course, every new sushi place I try has the best ginger dressing ever until I try somewhere else … Whatever.

IMG00106-20100706-1313.jpg
Standard salmon and avocado with brown rice.

True life: I eat ginger by itself and then ask for more.

IMG00108-20100706-1323.jpg
Brown rice eel and cucumber roll.

This was new – I’d never had eel before! But I will definitely be keeping it in my sushi rotation – SO DELICIOUS! The sauce on top is the perfect complement. It made me forget that the first time they brought out the roll with just cucumber and took fifteen minutes to remake it. NBD. Fin of Fairfield, I will be back.

Afternoon snack, Gabriela-inspired:

P7060579.JPG
  • MultiGrain Cheerios
  • Kashi H2H
  • Blueberries
  • Almond milk

You are a genius! Why did I wait so long to try this great cereal combo? I guess because I don’t really crave cereal with milk anymore. I really like it with Greek yogurt now, but this was bomb. Thank you darling.

My mom made ratatouille for dinner! I’m a huge Remy fan, but I’d never tried the dish. Blurry pic, but I was hungry. You understand.

P7060580.JPG

One and a half English muffins (finishing them off) topped with avocado + S&P .. how new. Ratatouille with eggplant, green pepper, zucchini, onion, and more. Topped with kidney beans – a fabulous protein addition.

Nightitme snack was chocolate milk, 30 Rock, and more popcorn than any one person should eat in one sitting.

Have you tried anything new lately? What are some of your newest workout tunes?

22 comments
  1. Oh those are some stellar workout tunes. I’ve been too lazy to sync my iPod with my new computer, so there’s absolutely nothing new on there and I find myself getting so bored at the gym! All I’m doing is skipping over basically every song. Need to get on that, stat. Don’t be surprised if I copy some of your songs šŸ˜‰

    Call me a dork, but I think that trying new foods or food combos makes life more exciting! Maybe that’s why life has been a bit boring lately; I haven’t been experimenting. Need to get on that as well. Eesh, I really have to stop being so lazy šŸ˜‰

    ā¤ ā¤

    • Brynne said:

      Feel free to steal my song ideas – tell me if you need more!

      I know, I feel the same way about new food/food combos. Sometimes things are just SO GOOD that I keep repeating the same stuff and then I get bored and stuck in a rut. Blogs are great for inspiration though :0)

  2. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) said:

    yay for writing out your workout songs!!! i’m updating my list as we speak so thanks love šŸ™‚
    your breakfast looks delicious- i think i might try it!! i need to change it up too, i’m getting bored. love the sushi wtih your dad- its my fav! & the house salads are always so good. love the ginger dressings!!

    xoxxox

  3. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) said:

    oh, & i have a question- how do you cook the oatmeal pancakes?

    • Brynne said:

      Yes! Post yours too!

      AND PLEASE TRY THE OATMEAL PANCAKES!!! I just mix everything up in a bowl and cook them on the stovetop like normal pancakes! They will change your life.

  4. Katie said:

    mmm those peachy oatmeal pancakes look fabulous!

    I just tried a new protein powder today (Sun Warrior) – and loved it! Here’s to trying new things. šŸ™‚

    • Brynne said:

      Ohh did you get it from Gina’s OpenSky deal? I was sooo tempted but I’ve never done the protein powder thing and didn’t want to commit.

  5. I love trying out new foods and recipes! It usually takes me a lot of time to do it though. I’ve been meaning to try out overnight oats for months and I just got around to trying them for the first time this morning. šŸ˜›

    I’m also terrible at trying new types of sushi! I always get a California roll and a salmon roll every time. The eel roll sounds interesting though… I’ll have to keep it in mind.

    • Brynne said:

      How did you JUST try overnight oats? They are so amazing. I can’t believe I hadn’t heard of them until the blog world introduced me – I don’t know how normal people go through their whole lives without them.

      Definitely keep the eel in mind, it’s really really good. Not fishy at all, if that’s something you worry about.

  6. Eel sushi is my fav. It sounds disgusting that you’re eating a huge sea snake but I do think it’s the best sushi type out there and what also makes it is the sauce topping…I’m not sure what exactly is in it? Probably soy sauce but something else I can’t point out.
    Love your site!

    • Brynne said:

      HAHAHAHA I didn’t think of it like that at all! A huge sea snake – kind of makes me feel bad ass, not gonna lie. Thanks so much!

  7. squigglefloey said:

    Hey dear, just wanted to give my regards concerning your step-brother. I’m sure everyone else out here in bloggie world is thinking the same thing <33
    Glad you're coming back on track though!
    and, ps. your eats look deliciousss.

    šŸ™‚ Floey

    • Brynne said:

      Aw thank you so much, you’re so sweet<3

  8. I love that Dynamite song! It always makes me want to dance when I hear it so it must be great for running!
    Oatmeal pancakes sound great! I will have to give them a try!

    • Brynne said:

      It’s definitely great for running! I’m so glad I just found it (thanks to the iTunes top songs list). DEFINITELY try the oatmeal pancakes – they will change your life. Or at least your breakfast habits šŸ™‚

  9. Great goal, that’s an awesome idea. Keeps it interesting. I love the afternoon snack idea. Too often I keep my cereal for the morning.

  10. I love that song! I listen to it while I run šŸ˜€

    And I’ve always wanted to try ratatouille (<3 eggplant)

  11. sophia said:

    I’m going to have to try oat pancakes sometime soon. Have seen them around, but always have been ambiguous that they can actually be better than real oatmeal!

  12. Do you eat any snacks? Or do strength training? I am unable to do cardio really ( I do some walking), and admire your abilities.

    • Brynne said:

      I eat A LOT of snacks/mini meals – I in no way post everything I eat on the blog. It would be too time consuming and frankly, boring, since I get obsessed with one food and repeat it all the time.

      Ugh I don’t do much strength training (except yoga, which I count) but I NEED to. It’s something on my to-do list šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

