Back at It

First of all, thank you all so, so much for your kind comments and tweets. Your support has really meant a lot to me over the past couple of days and I can’t really express how grateful I am for your prayers and kind thoughts for me and my family.

We have a lot going on right now to honor Zach’s memory – a bench along the Farmington River, hopefully a plaque of some sort near the field at UConn where he practiced Ultimate Frisbee with his club teammates, and a memorial service for next Saturday, five days after he would have turned 22. One of my other stepbrothers and his mom and getting a drawing Zach did of a phoenix tattooed in the next few days, and I plan on getting something small soon as well.

It has obviously been a very hard couple of days and I don’t expect it to get easier anytime soon and I know that it will never be normal again. Of course, my eating has taken a hit – my emotions and appetite are much, MUCH too in sync with each other and my routine has definitely been disturbed, but I’m getting back into the groove.

To be honest, I feel like blogging (even my food) is such a release and things have just been building up in my mind to tell you guys!

Such as the arrival of my diploma:

P7010502.JPG

See, multiple recipients of my resume? It’s for real. Hire me, please!

Foods:

P7020503.JPG P7020504.JPG
  • Veggie Wrap on La Tortilla with roasted garlic hummus, broccoli, carrots, mushrooms, sprouts, red onion
  • Sandwich thin with avocado and tomato
  • Carrots
  • Pineapple
P7020505.JPG
  • Amy’s Black Bean and Vegetable Enchiladas on romaine and tomatoes
  • Plain Chobani and half a bottle of Cholula added post-pic
P7030509.JPG P7030511.JPG
  • Veggie wrap on La Tortilla with roasted garlic hummus, feta, sprouts, mushrooms, tomato, carrots, broccoli, and red onion
  • Dr. Kracker’s Seeded Spelt
  • Carrots
  • More roasted garlic hummus
P7030512.JPG
  • Afternoon delight.

P7030513.JPGP7030515.JPG

  • Peppermill turkey wrap with sprouts, plain Laughing Cow, and red onion
  • Dr. Kracker’s Apple Crisps (get gooey and honey-y in the heat, FYI)
  • Cucumbers
  • Carrots
  • Roasted garlic hummus for veg dippage

IMG00099-20100705-1305.jpg

  • I love you, aspartame Diet Coke. You are perfect on a hot summer day and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. Nevermind that I couldn’t scrounge up the $2.53 for a large and had to hang my head and downgrade to the $2.11 medium.

P7050548.JPG

  • Mixed greens, green beans, broccoli, red onion, carrots, tomato, mushrooms, hummus mountain, balsamic vinegar
  • Millet toast with avocado

IMG00101-20100705-1722.jpg

  • Walnut pancakes with maple syrup a la Clif. I was melting in the heat and of joy.

P7050558.JPG

  • Spinach and feta omelet
  • 1.5 WW english muffins with strawberry jam

Yes, I made a perfectly shaped omelet. I’m awesome.

Patriotism (one day late):

P7040528.JPG
OPI Comet Loves Cupid – Christmas name, country color.

P7040541.JPG P7040540.JPG

  • 1 plain Chobani
  • 2/3c oats
  • Blueberries
  • Strawberries

Other items of note:

P7040520.JPGNEW LAUGHING COWS

  • Blue Cheese
  • Mozarella, Sun-Dried Tomato & Basil
  • Queso Fresco & Chipotle

P7040518.JPG

  • Figs!
P7040533.JPG

  • Cilantro

Any ideas what I’m going to do/should do with these fun new items?

Also, new sneakers:

P7050553.JPG
(L) New, Asics Gel 1150 (R) Old, Asics Gel 1140

P7050556.JPG
This lasted less than 24 hours. Read. It. Now.

P7050554.JPG

  • Hot pink shorts: $11.83
  • Fave new summer dress: $45
  • Inability to look at a self-timed camera: Sad at the age of 22.

Hope you had a fabulous 4th! Again, please keep my family in your thoughts and prayers. I really, truly appreciate it. Lots to do today!

P.S.  Anyone need a new pair of Asics??

12 comments
  1. Hugs to you, girlie. I’m glad to hear that you’re doing okay. I know it can’t be easy, but it really sounds like you guys are doing some awesome things to honor Zach’s memory, and that’s great.

    Your eats are looking delish. I think your abundance of wraps just convinced me that I need to make one for lunch today 😉 But if I see oneeeee more person with fresh figs, I just might scream. I’ve been wanting to try them forever now, but I can’t find them anywhere! Gah. So frustrating…

    • Brynne said:

      If Canada were closer, I’d air mail you some! Thank you so, so much again for your kind words, Amanda<3

  2. 1. Frankly, figs + queso fresco sounds quite delicious to me.
    2. I LOVED THE HELP111
    3. Your wraps look so good. I wanted to go back and eat another meal, despite having just eaten one.
    4. Thank goll another food blogger loves aspartame as much as I do. I was beginning to feel bad about myself.

    • Brynne said:

      1. Hmm. I do trust your food combinations – so while that does not sound super appealing to me, I might just try it.
      2. YES SO GOOD!
      3. I often feel that way about your food too.
      4. No, no don’t feel bad. At least it’s not crack.

  3. janetha said:

    glad you are hanging in there. it must be so tough. definitely blog if it helps clear your mind! cute new purchases, love that dress. props on the diploma. i MUST find the new LCs..blue cheese?! oh my.

    xo

    • Brynne said:

      Thanks so much Janetha! Yeah, that’s the LC I’m most excited about since buffalo-flavored things are my most favorite in the world!!

  4. I saw this dress in the flesh – and let me tell all of you: it’s gorgeous! You and I have a breakfast date this week, thoughts? Pancakes? My house? YES PLEASE!

    • Brynne said:

      Chica I will cook you pancakes ANYTIME

  5. Hello Graduate Gourmande! I’m the American Gourmande! I appreciate seeing the extra e in gourmand! I just clicked on your blog today, I’m sorry to hear about the loss of your stepbrother. I hope you’re doing alright.

    I absolutely adore figs. Nothing beats a fresh fig! I bet it would be delish with laughing cow blue cheese…

    • Brynne said:

      Yay another Gourmande! Thanks so much, I’m doing fine right now.

      Figs are so, so underrated! That definitely sounds like a great combo!

  6. YAY ASPARTAME!! It’s BAD how much I love that stuff. I have to restrain myself from drinking it every day, but a few times a week a Coke Zero is all I want 🙂 I love the hot pink shorts and floral dress…pink is my favorite color! Hang in there in this tough time love, praying for you 🙂

    • Brynne said:

      I love Diet Coke. I love Diet Dr. Pepper. But Coke Zero legitimately it just the best aspartame-y deliciousness everrrr. Thanks so much for your support<3

Leave a Reply

