Yoga, Pancakes, and more!

Highlights of the last couple days:

Fact: I have a girl crush on Dawnelle.

More blueberry oatmeal pancakes:

  P6290476.JPG P6290478.JPG

This batch was a bit modified:

  • 2/3c oats
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2c blueberries mixed in
  • dash of cinnamon (Amanda, I believe you now!)

I added the cinnamon this time, and I think they were better with it! As far as the frosting (as I call it in my head) goes, I only had half of a plain Chobani left, so I added 1/4 cup of low-fat cottage cheese to it and mixed a pack of stevia in. After I took the pancakes out of the pan, I threw some more blueberries in the skilled to heat up (because there is nothing like warm blueberries) and put them on top. These just keep getting better.

Epic roasted vegetable salad:

P6300482.JPG P6300483.JPG

In the bowl:

  • Mixed greens
  • Green beans
  • Broccoli
  • Carrots
  • Tomatoes
  • Mushrooms
  • TJ’s Roasted Garlic Hummus mountain
  • Balsamic vinegar

On the side:

  • Multigrain english muffin
  • Avocado
  • Tomato slices
  • S&P

Best. Lunch. Ever.

Snackers:

P6300486.JPG

  • (L) Dr. Kracker’s Cherry Semolina
  • (R) Dr. Kracker’s Apple Crisps
  • (C) Trader Joe’s Goat Cheese Medallion

I’m have a bikini on, I swear.

P6300490.JPG

  • Oven-baked sweet potato

This was part of a larger, but boring and ugly meal (salad and chicken sausage). The sweet potato was the highlight. I’m all for microwaving a sweet potato in the microwave for something quick and easy, but you absolutely cannot beat oven-baked. It is so naturally sweet, creamy, and buttery that I prefer it without any toppings. And I eat it with the skin. Fiber, people, fiber.

a252db231b26054122a242906ca6e4ef.jpg
[source]

Hugewhat did you think? For one, I absolutely cannot stand Nikki Blonskyโ€™s character. Aside from the purple hair in desperate need of conditioning .. she wants to GAIN weight at camp? I think the focus of the show needs to shift from weight to HEALTH! Being as overweight as most of those girls are at such a young age is clearly not healthy for them, now or in the future. I really hope they try to educate on health more in future episodes.

I don’t want to give away any spoilers, but I do like that they included a presence of ED in overweight girls. There’s a definitely myth that everyone with an ED is emaciated and that is far from the truth. I also liked that they addressed media and peer pressure in looks. What did you like/not like about the show’s presentation?

Read Jacquie’s thoughts here and an article on fat acceptance in Hollywood here.

eclipse-official-poster1.jpg
[source]

Epic. Best movie of the series. I haven’t been as obsessed with Twilight as I was last year, but the movie was so good! Eclipse was my favorite book in the series and I thought they did a great job transferring all the important/best parts to the movie. Kristen Stewart’s acting has improved so much throughout the series (although she was great in Into the Wild) and she keeps getting prettier! Just like Edward and Jacob keep getting hotter … I do love Emmett too! Do you like the Twilight series?

P6300493.JPG

Yes, raspberry oatmeal pancakes. The idea came to me driving home yesterday and I stopped at the grocery store specifically to pick up raspberries, a Fage, and gum. A pack a day habit gets expensive. But I can’t help it. Anyway:

  • 2/3c oats
  • 3 egg whites (all we had left)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • a couple shakes of cinnamon
  • 1/2c frozen raspberries in the mix

Frosting:

  • 1 plain Fage
  • packet of Stevia In the Raw
  • 1/4c microwaved frozen raspberries

Fresh raspberries would have been better, but they were more expensive so I made do. Amazing, so so good! I want to try these with every summer fruit .. hmm, maybe a goal for the summer? Sounds delicious.

Lunch was simple but satisfying:

P7010498.JPG P7010501.JPG

  • Dr. Kracker’s Pumpkin Seed Cheddar flatbread
  • Steamed carrots and brocc with TJ’s Roasted Garlic Hummus
  • La Tortilla Factory wrap with avocado, peppercorn turkey, salsa, S&P

The salsa was chunky and I drained the liquid out of it before putting it in the wrap, but it still made it soggy ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Still yummy! But not the crisp pressed wrap (a la Megan) I was aiming for.

Off to find some dinner, watch Glee and the new episode of Bethenny Getting Married! So glad to hear so many of you love Bethenny too ๐Ÿ™‚

PS – Check out Melissa’s blogiversary giveaway!

4 comments
  1. Trying not to hate you for posting so many delicious pancake pics when I didn’t end up having any for breakfast today. It’s okay. I forgive you…. ๐Ÿ˜‰ And I will make some eventually. If not for breakfast, then definitely for dinner. Pancake Sunday, anyone? Yes. I think so.

    Can you believe that I completely forgot Eclipse was coming out today? Shows you how up to date I am with things, eh? I’m glad you enjoyed it though… I liked the books, but I thought they kind of got worse as the story progressed. The movies, on the other hand, I didn’t really enjoy. Twilight was alright, but New Moon was horrible… the acting was a bit over dramatic. Don’t hate me!

  2. kbwood said:

    HEY MAMA!!!
    you are the pancake QUEEN!!! love it!! i havent seen eclipse but i LOVE JACOB! he is a hottie werewolf. totally going to have to make pancakes now dagummit!

  3. dmcgirl37 said:

    I totally agree with you about the show HUGE.. It really should be about HEALTH and not size. I dont understand why a society full of educated and smart human beings cant really understand that?! :: SIGHHH ::

    Dana xo
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

  4. Rebecca said:

    Once upon a time, I meant to put gettin’ my yoga download on on my should-do list. Then, one day a looong time after that, I read this post and remembered!
    Yay happy endings ๐Ÿ™‚

    Oatmeal pancakes?! I must try them!
    And I didn’t watch Huge, but after reading your review, I really want to. Looks interesting!

    This post gave me a lot to do, haha. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

