Running is my Boyfriend

But first, let’s go back to last night. No yoga took place, but my snack certainly did:

P6280448.JPG
Greek yogurt, MultiGrain Cheerios, blueberries

Blueberries are SO GOOD lately. I wanted them in my breakfast too, but my yogurt mess/egg, toast, and fruit breakfasts weren’t sounding as appealing as they usually do. I wanted something different. I wanted pancakes.

Enter: Kath’s oatmeal pancakes:

P6280449.JPG P6280450.JPG P6280455.JPG

Oh. My. God. Why have I waited so long to make these? Glorious is the only word that comes to mind. I doubled the recipe, left out the cinnamon (as much as I love, I don’t think cinn & blueberries would be the greatest taste combination), and added ground flaxseed:

  • 2/3 cup oats
  • 2/3 cup egg whites (4 egg whites)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 1 tsp ground golden flaxseed

This made two dense, fluffy, delicious pancakes. Next time, I would add some sweetener to the batter – probably a packet of stevia. For topping, I mixed a packet of stevia into a 6 oz. container of plain Chobani, layered half between the pancakes and spread the other half on the top pancake and topped them off with more blueberries. These seriously were amazing and kept me full for such a long time. Expect repeats – soon! In related news, I need a wide spatula.

Because of the foot pain I’ve been experiencing recently, I’ve been sticking to the elliptical and stair stepper for my cardio. I’ve been icing it on and off since I hurt it last week and it doesn’t hurt when I walk anymore! So today I spent 20 minutes on the elliptical and ran on the treadmill for a mile. My foot felt great! So I did another mile – and it’s still all good! Although now my ankle is randomly bothering me a little? But I have bad joints so it’s probably just the humidity.

Funny, I actually didn’t miss running this past week, but once I started I didn’t want to stop! Running is my boyfriend and sometimes we need some time apart to remember how good it is together.

After my workout, I headed home to make lunch:

P6290460.JPG P6290461.JPG  P6290463.JPG

I mixed up a TON of veggies into an extremely colorful Greek salad – yellow, red, and orange bell peppers, green beans, cucumber, tomato, red onion, and fetaaaaaa! Plus a chewy, seedy, grainy, soft glorious piece of bread topped with avocado and S&P. I ate all the salad but the bread and avocado was hands down the best part of lunch. Simplicty is best.

After picking my brother up from the train station, I realized I hadn’t had hummus all day. Intervention:

P6290468.JPG P6290469.JPG

Great summer snacking: carrots, TJ’s roasted garlic hummus, and Dr. Kracker’s Hummus Maximus on Santa with a Strawberry Serenity. Sorry about the “s” overload. Hummus Maximus definitely pair well with their namesake, but Seeded Spelt are still holding my heart!

My 5 o’clock snack led to a late dinner. I was too lazy to cook anything so I just had a yogurt mess around 9 – Strawberry Banana Chobani with MultiGrain Cheerios and Kashi Heart to Heart, with more strawberries on top. It was good, but no pic.

Right now I’m catching up on Bethenny Getting Married? – she is absolutely freaking hilarious, I love her! She loves CostCo just as much as I do .. shopping during a book signing? Fabulous. Plus, she named her daughter Bryn! Have you watched?

Bored?

  • Enter to win some Chobani from Hillary!
  • Mean Girls + Disney princesses = the best video ever.
  • The 50 Fattiest Foods in the States – what’s your state’s fattiest food? I think the ones from fast food chains are cop-outs! They should have found meals from independent places! I’ve never visited that horrifying hot dog from Connecticut, but Florida and empanadas? In Fort Lauderdale, there was a bakery case in CVS with empanadas in it. Yes.

BAHAHAHA “I am slowly becoming a moose.” I can’t remember the last time I laughed so much at a reality show! Have a great night!

OH! Did anyone else watch Huge on ABC Family last night? Tell me your thoughts!

24 comments
  1. “…but the bread and avocado was hands down the best part of lunch.” — YES! I say that ALL the time when I finish eating my lunch πŸ™‚ I’m glad to find someone who’s as obsessed with avocado and toast as I am πŸ™‚

    But that stack of pancakes? Oh.Em.Gee. They look so good. I’ve been itching to try that recipe forever now, and you’ve made me want to do it even more… if that was possible. Oh, and for the record, blueberries and cinnamon are a pretty stellar combo πŸ˜‰

    Hope you’re having a great night!

    • Brynne said:

      Seriously, I don’t know how I’ve never eaten avocado and toast/bread before. I could easily (and have been) eat it everyday and be happy. By the way, I only have you to thank for that amazingness entering me life! Saw it first on your blog!

      You absolutely, positively NEED those pancakes NOW! I hope you made them and I’ll read about them later :0) I’m sure your pictures are beautiful as always!

  2. kbwood said:

    haha i really like her show too!! shes so funny and LOVE her accent!! since its so diff than mine!
    OK making those pancakes ASAP after seeing them on here! YUM

    • Brynne said:

      You NEED to make them! That’s so funny – I actually don’t notice her accent that much – I guess because I’m used to them?

  3. I didn’t watch HUGE because I don’t like the idea behind it. In one of the previews I saw one of the girls talking about how she shouldn’t have to change herself. I know this is very controversial, but she does need to change herself because she is unhealthy and will die. I am in no way saying people shouldn’t love themselves for who they are or still have a positive body image, because they should, but your health should be #1.

    I wish running was my BF! I’m gonna check out hte 50 fattiest foods right now and see if I’ve eaten at the CT place! (Hopes not!!)

    • Brynne said:

      I did watch it, but .. I’ll tell you my feelings about it next entry – but you pretty much said it there! Haha I don’t think you would have even there! I’ve never even heard of the place.

  4. I am laughing so hard at the CVS comment. WOW, that’s outta control.

    I just topped blueberries on my Special K Eggo, now I’m disappointed looking at the magic you created:)

    • Brynne said:

      Yes – there was also danish. It was a 24-hour CVS attached to a hotel .. you know that case got raided nightly.

  5. Those pancakes look so good! I’ve been craving pancakes like crazy since seeing them all over blogs lately but I still haven’t made a batch yet!

    That’s awesome that you foot felt good enough to run! I’m so scared of getting an injury because I would miss it way too much if I had to stop running.

    • Brynne said:

      I knowww I don’t want to get injured so I’m easing back into it – running is such a high for me, I don’t know what I’d do with out it!

  6. Katie said:

    Oh my goodness, that Mean Girls thing was HILARIOUS!! Thank you for posting it – I loved it.

    Also, my state’s (Colorado) fattest food is a 7 lb burrito. Who could eat 7lbs of burrito?! I couldn’t…

    • Brynne said:

      Isn’t it great? And I think that was the one that was on Man vs. Food? I watched that episode. I felt full for him – his poor, poor arteries.

  7. Kate said:

    i love mean girls! i want that version of Lindsay Lohan back. how did she go from so great to sooooooo trashy?

    • Brynne said:

      ha I know but I still stick by her!

  8. so glad to hear that you weren’t in too much pain when running πŸ™‚ yayy!! i can’t imagine my life without running.

    wow your version of kath’s oatmeal pancakes look rid. good! love that you added more yogurt on top and blueberries πŸ™‚ yumm.

    • Brynne said:

      Me either! Running keeps me sane.

      And they are ridiculously good πŸ™‚ thank you!

  9. Love all your eats, especially your veggie salad. I could eat hummus everyday also! It is so delicious!
    I love Bethenny Getting Married but I missed the episode this week. I will make sure to check out the rerun.

    • Brynne said:

      I make it a point to eat hummus everyday, seriously. Definitely watch the rerun (I think tonight before the new one?), it was hilarious!

  10. I LOVE BETHENNY GETTING MARRIED! im hooked!!

    omg those pancakes are dynamite!! im always impressed by a fluffy pancake but this has blueberries which makes them even more loveable! ❀

    • Brynne said:

      ME TOO! Can’t wait for the new episode tonight πŸ™‚

      Blueberry pancakes are definitely in my Top 5 foods!

  11. Serena said:

    Uhhh I actually want to watch Huge. It looks very interesting. Don’t have a working TV currently…darn!

  12. Serena said:

    Actually, I’m watching the first episode online now.

    I’ll form a better opinion of it once I’ve properly thought it over…I am glad there is a show about fat I suppose. However, it’s less of integrating larger people into regular shows.. I mean this show just focusses on the fat itself rather than transcending it…so I am a bit mixed. It’s entertaining though.

Leave a Reply

