Sweet & Salty, Salty & Sweet

Because it is the best flavor combo in the world (hellooo chocolate covered pretzels), all of my meals today included the two in various ways :).

I apologize in advance for the majority of today’s pictures – they are BackBerry-licious. Sometimes my camera battery charger claims to be charging when it’s not. It’s cool.

IMG00085-20100628-0944.jpg
Salty: goat cheese & salt Sweet: pineapple and strawberries

Today started off deliciously, if a little too salty (didireallyjustsaythat). I toasted two slices of millet bread, split a Trader Joe’s goat cheese medallion between them, and topped them with an egg and three egg whites, plus salt and pepper. Note to self: when using goat cheese, do not add salt. Today extremely hot and humid, much as it has been everyday lately, so I paired my hot eggs and toast with yummy summer pineapple and strawberries.

{Enter semi-traumatic blood drawing we won’t discuss. Like how they called me Bernie.}

Another lap lunch, eaten outside while reading.

IMG00088-20100628-1347.jpg
La Tortilla Factory WW Tortilla with avocado, tomato, and salty peppercorn turkey + more sweet pineapple and a kiwi.

Though the wrap just okay (left out the S&P – fail), the pineapple and kiwi were so good. The kiwi appeared a little past its prime (aka – it was bald. Hanging out in the fruit basket so long it was furless. Oops.) but he was perfectly ripe and fresh! I ❤ fruit! I’ve definitely been favoring vegetables over fruit lately and I’ve been missing out.

Finally, the real camera is back in action.

P6280441.JPG P6280444.JPG

It was also back to vegetables for dinner – mixed greens topped with roasted broccoli, mushrooms, and tomato, dressed with salty roasted garlic balsamic, accompanied by baked sweet potato fries and a Morningstar vegan burger, both swimming in ketchup.

And I just realized my extreme thirst the past couple days has a lot to do with the heat and humidity, but possibly my large salt intake as well? Perhaps – TJ’s sea salt on everything, ketchup on the rest. Hmmm I should really cut back. Or just chug water. And eat pineapple.

Fun Links!
No description. Just gross and intriguing. –> “What’s for Lunch: Cheetohs with Cheese?”
The Candid RD is having an awesome giveaway here!
Lara has a great post on having a snack versus snacking here.

I’m off to relax for the rest of the night – maybe do some yoga, definitely eat a snack. I’m also planning on watching Huge – anyone else? What are your thoughts on it? I already think Nikki Blonsky’s hair could use some serious conditioning from those previews …

15 comments
  1. Megan said:

    Salty and sweet is my favorite too! I love kettle corn, chocolate covered pretzels, etc.
    And I put TJ’s sea salt on everything too… when it comes to sweet potato fries, they are drenched in ketchup as well! Glad I’m not the only one. =P
    And your blackberry takes pretty nice photos!!

    • Brynne said:

      SP fries are great in BBQ sauce too!

      Yeah actually, the camera on the new curve isn’t horrible! You should see the closeups I didn’t post though!

  2. Hey girlie, thanks for the link back! What a perfect post, too….salty + sweet is my favorite combination EVER. 🙂

    • Brynne said:

      No problem, it was such a great post Lara!

  3. kbwood said:

    gah i seriously eat a LOT OF SALT! but my dr tells me to! but im always thursday! haha SO confusing! anyway love yo eats tho..salty and sweet ROCKS ME!

    • Brynne said:

      Haha athletes need salt more than people that don’t exercise so it’s justified!

  4. thehungryscholar said:

    I love your blog and your food. Yum. I see from your About that you are learning to cook. I would say it is going quite well!

  5. Thanks on the tip on the yoga videos! I can’t wait to try them. 🙂

    I love having tons of fruit on the side of super salty meals! I feel like it balances it out.

    • Brynne said:

      No problem! YogaDownload is seriously awesome.

    • Brynne said:

      Thank you! I completely agree 🙂

  6. Katie said:

    Your Blackberry photos look great! Mine always come out really fuzzy and gray.

    • Brynne said:

      Yeah the new Curve is actually not horrible – but I didn’t show you the close ups haha!

Leave a Reply

