Accomplishments

Yesterday I talked about my rut of my boring, unemployed life. Well I made a to-do list (didn’t accomplish everything), but then decided that everything I do is an accomplishment in some way. I’m finding more and more that having a good or bad day really depends on my attitude – wisdom with age? Maybe. Tired of just having bad days and letting the little things get to me? Definitely.

So after my delicious blueberry mess yesterday, I had every intention to digest a little and head to the gym. My mom came home with the second wireless router of the week and I went to set it up on the home computer. Fail! For some reason, it just won’t work (Why yes, Cisco, there IS an ethernet cord in both ends where it is supposed to be, thanks.). I tried installing it on my laptop and SUCCESS! The last one definitely was a dud because it wouldn’t install on my MacBook either, but this one worked – and I installed and set up my family’s wireless! Before noon. Go me. Accomplishment #1.

That took a little longer than expected, and then I lost time reading blogs. By 11:45 I had decided to eat lunch and head to the gym after, but for some reason, I only like eating lunch after one (eye roll at self) and I didn’t know what to do until then. After a swig of water, I decided to just suck it up and head to the gym now. Pulling in, my stomach was rumbling. Whatever, I can get through half an hour on the elliptical. Three minutes in, I realized I was shaking from such low blood sugar. Not cool. So I got off and left – accomplishment #2.

I was pretty self-conscious walking back out in front of all of the exercisers and employees who had literally just seen me come in, but whatever – I needed fuel for my workout and, although they sell Clifs at the gym, I was cash-less and in need of more than an energy bar.

P6270425.JPG P6270427.JPG P6270428.JPG

Just what I was craving – my new favorite combo! Avocado and tomato on a toasted whole grain english muffin with S&P, plus mushroom, carrots, celery, and cucumber for dipping in the pool of TJ’s roasted garlic hummus.

It took a while for my blood sugar to level out and to stop feeling shaky, but my veggies, whole grains, healthy fat, protein, and two Siggs’ worth of water eventually kicked in and I felt a lot better.

I spent the afternoon reading and doing laundry (accomplishment #3). I had signed up for a basic/intermediate vinyasa flow at five and fought with myself whether or not to go back to the gym and even to go to yoga. I KNEW I would feel better after both but I went back and forth for a while.

I ended up going to the gym (enter half a Luna Chocolate Raspberry bar), had a great, light half an hour on the elliptical with my iPod and Women’s Health. Let me just say – I love endorphins. They make people happy. And happy people just don’t kill their husbands.

And they made me happy and ready for some incredibly necessary vinyasa. On the way down to yoga, I ate the other half of the Luna bar that had been melting in my car … I licked the wrapper. I hope no other cars were watching me voraciously wipe it clean of chocolatey raspberry-y frosting. It was necessary. As was the GLORIOUS hour and fifteen minutes of vinyasa. I absolutely LOVE this teacher – she remembered me from going once two weeks ago, is so sweet, and really pushes you (comfortably) deeper into poses than you thought you could go. So in the end, I made it to the gym and yoga – accomplishment #4.

I was once again starving by the time I got back from yoga and whipped up a quick and boring dinner:

P6270429.JPG P6270433.JPG P6270434.JPG

On a La Tortilla (my fave!) whole wheat wrap was romaine, a plain Laughing Cow wedge, and Light Life’s Honey BBQ “chicken” tenders (thanks again Em!). Paired with a mountain of steamed carrots, brussels, broccoli, green beans, and mushrooms doused in Bragg’s Liquid Aminos and Dr. Krackers’ Hummus Maximus, dipped in another unpictured LC wedge.

The crackers were definitely hummus-y, and I realize that’s hard to convey, but the flavor was there! I still prefer the Seeded Spelt, though, and to me, these were better with some Laughing Cow. I was going to dip them in hummus but thought it might be an overload – I realize I will still do this at some point in the near future because there is no such thing as a hummus overload. Elise proves this to me time and time again.

I re-did my nails in Tart Deco (accomplishment #5):

P6030139.JPG

and ended the night with a great new combo:

P6270438.JPG
I know the horrible lighting doesn’t make it look like much, but it was delicious and healthy strawberry chocolate mousse!
  • 1/2 container plain Chobani
  • 1/2 packet hot chocolate powder
  • microwaved frozen strawberries.

No words. New snack combo = accomplishment #6.

So although my day didn’t include anything out of the ordinary and I didn’t cross off all of my to-dos, it’s easier than you think to take the little things from your day and realize you did a lot. Yesterday, I :

  • Set up my family’s wireless
  • Listened to my body and LEFT the gym
  • Did laundry
  • Got my endorphins and relaxation in
  • Did my nails
  • Created a new snack

See? It’s all about the mindset. Off to make breakfast and start a new day!

What have you accomplished (big or small) lately? I know my lovepie Jenny did some big things in terms of motivation yesterday. Have a fabulous day!

14 comments
  1. Love your nail color. I accomplished quite a bit of little things yesterday. I got in a great workout, grocery shopped, and cleaned up my house. Those are the little things you sometimes forget are big accomplishments.
    Have a great week!

    • Brynne said:

      Yes, definitely all the little things add up!

  2. Totally loving that nail color! And avocado on english muffins is like my favorite thing ever. It’s great that you were able to see all of those small accomplishments; they add up by the end of the day! I know I always feel a lot better when I feel like I got a lot done during the day.

    My biggest accomplishment as of late has probably been joining a gym. I can’t wait to get back into exercising!

    • Brynne said:

      Avocado is just the best. I can’t believe I cut it out for so long. Try it with tomato!

  3. Katie said:

    Love that nail color. Good work on all of your accomplishments! I just vacuumed my car out – which I have been needing to do for at least a week…quite the achievement. 🙂

    • Brynne said:

      Cleaning my car has been on my to-do list for quite some time .. thanks for reminding me!

  4. Megan said:

    I love how you talked about all your accomplishments- so positive! 🙂
    And I loove that plate you put together with the avocado and hummus and veg. Yummayy.
    One of my accomplishments today was making nut butter for the first time!

    • Brynne said:

      Thank you 🙂

      I just got a new food processor and can’t wait to use it!

  5. So many accomplishments, yeah girl! I love the nailpolish color too…sassy!

    I just finished tomorrow’s Trendy Tuesday blog post…can that be considered an accomplishment? haha 😛

    • Brynne said:

      haha definitely! I can’t wait to read it!

  6. kbwood said:

    HOLLLAAA AT THE ACCOMPLISHMENTS!!!
    LOVE your nails!! Im kind of obsessed with colored nail polish!! pink is SO cute
    accomplishment: I got 1/8th shade darker today by laying out for 30 minutes because it was a million degrees outside. WHOO!!!

    • Brynne said:

      Thanks girl! Considering I’m Irish, that is definitely an accomplishment! Plus you got some Vitamin D!

Leave a Reply

