Twister

I always claim how New England (Connecticut in particular) is one of the best places to live for many reasons. For me, one of these reasons is the lack of extreme weather – we get the remnants of Southern hurricanes, but never feel their devastating effects for very long. We, of course, have Nor’Easters, but avalanches are unheard of and the claim of “snowed in” is far from literal. Earthquakes don’t rock the foundations of our houses. From time to time in the summer, we get bad thunderstorms, maybe once every two years with a “microburst” – a wind tunnel so small it can’t even be classified as a tornado.

I had this exact conversation with a woman during running club a couple of weeks ago. Momma Nature had to go and spite me a couple of days ago. The humidity here was so high you couldn’t walk outside without taking in a deep, wet breath. That afternoon brought relief in a thunderstorm – but no one predicted its severity.

This post is coming out a lot more dramatic than I set out for. A small tornado hit my city’s downtown – trees smashed into cars, windows blown out, part of a building collapsed (no one was injured) – it was crazy. The storm ended very quickly and I set out for the gym not long after it ended. Getting there however, was a maze of trees (not branches – trees) strewn across the road, taking power lines with them. I felt like I was in Pac Man trying to get around the down branches and traffic jams.

Another casualty – my cable, telephone, and internet. Cable came back later that night – just in time to bring me back from the ultimate boredom brink of cleaning my room. However, my city is still in a “state of emergency” (I think) and pretty much a giant mess, as I said, tornadoes do not hit us often, and at most usually tear off a few roof tiles. Soooo clean up and organization is taking a lot longer than it would had this tiny twister hit somewhere that it used to them. Still no phone = no modem for internet. My BlackBerry’s battery is taking it hard. I can only refresh Facebook and Twitter so many times before nothing new pops up. Google Reader is OOC and I’m DYING to comment. The wireless I’m stealing (shhhh!) goes in and out as it pleases) but I thought I’d try to post now in a more reliable area of the house. Unfortunately, my bed doesn’t like me to have wireless.

Let me preface these odd meals. I’ve had to get creative. For some reason, lately I cannot identify what I want AT ALL – Mexican, Asian, American, comfort food – AHHH! My stomach and and tastebuds change their cuisine desires every 5 seconds. More than once I’ve started making one meal and completely scrapped it for another. Insanity. Either way, everything I’ve eaten lately has been pretty tasty, so it all works out in the end!

P6230364.JPG  

Sweet potato the size of my foot topped with cottage cheese and ketchup (thanks Jenn!), grilled zucchini, and avocado and tomato on a WW english muffin. Dinner of confused tastebud champions.

P6230367.JPG
Mmm crispy carcinogens!

P6230368.JPG  
Must-try combo! Toast your english muffin, top with smashed avocado, add sea salt and pepper, add tomato slice, add more salt and pepper. Have I mentioned my sodium addiction?

P6230369.JPG
Sweet potato loves you. This time, with cottage cheese and ketchup. Yup. Don’t hate.

Let’s just say breakfasts have been bread-heavy. And I love alliteration.

P6230371.JPG
English muffin egg sandwich x2: 1 with a yolk and a French Onion Laughing Cow, 1 with 3 egg whites and a Garlic & Herb Laughing Cow. Both covered in S&P and Cholula, natch.

P6230374.JPG
Most perfectly cut grapefruit of my life.

At school, I had a grapefruit half almost everyday at breakfast. On Tuesdays and Thursdays I ate with a bunch of my sisters and other friends before we all separated for different 9:30 classes. The topic of discussion most often was the grapefruit: “Is it good today?” was the question most asked. Sometimes no (dining halls mess up even fruit), but sometimes the response was “Glorious!” Yes, we describe our food as “glorious.” After retrieving the glorious or lackluster grapefruit (having to test its failure on our own), the problem was cutting it.

Everyone is different in cutting and eating their grapefruit – some section off with a knife and eat it with a spoon, some section it off with the knife and fight it out with a fork, squeezing the last drops of juice into their mouths. On days when their were only plastic utensils, our grapefruit halves were abandoned – there was no hope. Lacking the grapefruit spoon in my household (a pointed spoon/knife hybrid), I sectioned it off with an actual knife (CutCo), not a dull dining hall knife overused by thousands of students a week. No fighting was necessary, my fork easily picked up the juicy chunks with ease. I’ve found the secret to eating a grapefruit: not in a dining hall.

And yes, I just wrote two paragraphs about eating grapefruit.

Other eats (less rambling, promise!)

P6240377.JPG
La Tortilla Rye wrap with homemade salsa, pink beans, and avocado + carrots

P6240379.JPG
Sunset dinner of roasted broccoli and brussels (ketchup for dippage), Dr. Kracker’s Seedlander flatbread (with a Swiss LC wedge for slathering), Morningstar Vegan Burger on a WW english muffin with lettuce, onion, and ketchup.

I picked up the Morningstar Vegan burgers because they’re hexane-free and I love the Griller’s Original. SO AMN GOOD. I’ve never enjoyed the taste of a beef burger, but to me, this is what they SHOULD taste like. Go buy now. In other news, I really like ketchup.

P6240384.JPG
Stawberry Oats (how new!) + flax, eaten outside in my backyard which has apparently jumped to autumn.

P6240386.JPG
Plus spider-webby 3-egg white puff with pepper and paprika.

P6250390.JPG
Salad Monster – mixed greens with carrots, Dr. Kracker’s Seeded Spelt (best cracker ever?), mushrooms, green beans, tomato, avocado, steamed brocc, garlic hummus globs, and balsamic vinegar.

This did not last on the plate. I dumped it into a huge salad bowl and mixed it around, minus the crackers and avocado with I ate on the side. The Seeded Spelt are seriously amazing – crunchy, seedy, and a hint of almond? I usually don’t like almond flavored things, but this was just mild enough for a sweet aftertaste!
P6250397.JPG P6250395.JPG
More roasted vegetables than anyone else could possibly eat – brussels, broccoli, tomatoes, green beans, shiitakes, and a white(!) potato – paired with a whole wheat wrap stuffed with two French Onion Laughing Cows, pink beans, and garlic powder.
WHEW! That was a HUGE post. Thank you if you read all the way!
What’s the craziest weather you’ve experienced?
What do you do without (involuntary) cable/internet?
How do you eat your grapefruit?
What’s your favorite veggie burger?
Oh, one more thing.

P6230375.JPG

It has a halo. What should I make? Hummus is already on the plan.

CONGRATULATIONS to Heather and Mark of HangryPants – they’re ENGAGED!!!
About to go make a serious breakfast. Now, eggs or yogurt, eggs or yogurt??
12 comments
    • Brynne said:

      Oh I will .. since like it’s tomatoey cousin, BBQ sauce goes with everything.

  1. It sounds like we had the same storm you did- it was CRAZY here!! I’m one of my only friends who didn’t lose power, by some miracle, because usually it goes out whenever there’s more than a drizzle. No internet is tough- I feel like I’d die of boredom!

    I love grapefruit. I usually cut it in half, sprinkle it with brown sugar, and dig in!

    • Brynne said:

      Ah I know we’re lucky to have power – so many around us don’t – but I’m a little greedy when it comes to the internet!

  2. I saw pictures of the city you live in (won’t say the name here), but it was crazy!! I knew that had to be more than just a storm. I have never seen something so insane come through that fast before. Just glad you are ok! 🙂

    • Brynne said:

      Thanks so much again for thinking of me!

  3. Wow! We had terrible storms in Chicago this week – one time lightning struck the three tallest buildings downtown…at the SAME TIME! It was really scary to have tornado sirens blaring when you’re on the 18th floor.

    That said, I am even more mortified and sorry for what happened in your town! So glad to hear that everyone is OK and I will definitely be thinking of you as the city gets back to “normal” – whatever normal is!

    Thanks for the sweet shout out – pun intended 😉 I love that combination, but haven’t had it in ages! Time to make a comeback I think. I also second the BBQ sauce notion – or perhaps a little humbecue as well.

    Good luck! Hope your Internet returns to full speed soon!

    • Brynne said:

      I heard Chicago was crazy too! I would NOT want to be in apartments when those tornado sirens go off! Tornadoes really, really scare me. So glad you’re ok too!

      Definitely such a quick, easy, and delicious combo – and oddly refreshing in the summer? So comforting though too. I’ve been dying for some more humbecue lately … :0)

  4. Katherine: What About Summer? said:

    1. I like that the appliance is titled “inspire”
    2. I read both paragraphs about grapefruit and I happen to eat grapefruit like oranges where I peal the outside and pull apart each segment. I’m the only person I’ve met who does this.

    • Brynne said:

      Oh I do that too! Mostly when I eat a whole one though. It’s just like an orange!

  5. Sounds like an intense storm!
    And you just reminded me I MUST get some grapefruit asap. I love how you said your processor had a halo =P
    Can’t wait to see what you make with it!

    • Brynne said:

      Hahaha it was the perfect time of day for a mini processor halo! I’ve got some big plans for it already :0)

Leave a Reply

