Coming Clean

Hilary Duff, anyone? I miss the original Laguna Beach. There, I said it.

ANYWAY – it’s been a few days. A few hard days. Last week, as I got to work .. the retail job I work MAX three days a week, that I started one month ago, that I LOVE in every possible way .. I was laid off. Disappointing, disheartening, and discouraging. My meager income was still necessary, and right now I don’t have anything and I’m feeling pretty lost about my future (which I was to begin with, but I had been counting on moving up in the company).

Enter upsetting weekend spent being a sloth in my bed, when I wasn’t pounding out the pavement with my frustration. In fact, one day I was so desperate for my run that I made a mistake. My mom had taken my car .. with my sneakers in it .. and I wasn’t sure when she would be back. Well, I thought to myself, I’ll just pull out my Asics from high school.

No, self, not ok. I don’t think their worn out-ness led to my semi-injury as much as the fact that they were not the right model for me to be running in then (perhaps one reason I hated cross country?), but they definitely are too small now too. Whose feet grow past 18?!?!

Soon after those 6.5 miles (How? WHY?), the outer sole of my right foot started hurting when I walk. After a couple days, one of rest, lots of icing, and one low-impact elliptical workout, it’s feeling a lot better, but not 100%. Thankfully, I’m pretty sure I didn’t do anything serious – just maybe strained it a bit.

Speaking of running, lately I’ve been running 5-6 miles a few days a week – pretty much my highest milage totals ever. Too much cardio. Not enough strength, although I have been doing more yoga too. In addition to my habitual hilly six-milers, I haven’t been taking in enough fat or protein in my diet. Long story short, I’m not looking or feeling my healthiest. A year ago my health goals were weight loss. Now I’m switching to weight gain. Less cardio and exercise overall, more snacks, nuts, avocado, and protein.

It felt good to get that out. Here are some recent eats:

P6190337.JPG P6190339.JPG
Plain Chobani, raw old fashioned oats, glorious strawberries, ground flaxseed on the windowsill

P6210341.JPG
Salad Monster with romaine, broccoli, shiitake mushrooms, cucumbers, snap peas, shrimpies, and sesame ginger dressing. Doused in red pepper flakes post-photo.

P6210348.JPG
P6210349.JPG
WHOLE EGG and Garlic & Herb Laughing Cow on WW english muffin + blueberry Chobani with raw oats and more blueberries.

P6220352.JPG
Amy’s Non-Dairy Burrito topped with plain Chobani & Cholula (avocado for toppage) + green pepper and salsa + steamed broccoli with red pepper flakes.

BTW – Amy’s Non-Dairy Burrito is amazing. Go eat it. With all pictured toppings.

P6220361.JPG
P6220363.JPG
Mixed greens with broccoli, carrots, cucumber, and roasted garlic balsamic + La Tortilla rye wrap with garlic hummus and more veg.

Yesterday my mom and I saw Toy Story 3. If you’re thinking about seeing it, go NOW! It was so cute and just so good – better than the second, I think. Also, don’t take a tuna wrap and carrots with garlic hummus into the theater with you. It was a tasty lunch, but I don’t think my fellow Buzz fans appreciated my aromatic meal. Of course, they were eating movie theater nachos. Nasty.

Don’t forget to check out Gracie’s NuNatural’s giveaway here!
This nut’s recent legal birthday made me remember my first legal drink – a strawberry margarita! What was your first legal drink? Or, what do you want it to be?
9 comments
  1. Katie said:

    I’m so sorry about the layoff… I recently went through a similar ordeal and it’s pretty crushing. My best adivce: keep to a routine! Keep regular hours and don’t let yourself stay indoors all day feeling sorry about it. All experience is good experience, in one way or another.

    • Brynne said:

      Thanks for the advice! I think everything happens for a reason too :0)

  2. Megan said:

    Your chobani overflowing with bluebs looks so yummy! And I say TS3 last night and LOVED it! Cutest. movie. ever. I want to see it again in 3D! Also, a few months ago I was in the same boat as you (long runs up to 9 miles, very little fat in my diet) and have come a long way since then and feel AMAZING. Honestly the reason I stopped running was because of a stress fracture, but maybe you could just start to crosstrain a little bit and gradually start to eat things like nuts, avocado, salmon, etc. Good luck and let me know if you ever want to chat! šŸ™‚

    • Brynne said:

      I want to see it now in 3D too! Thank you so much for your kind words<3 I've definitely been eating more avocado and already love salmon – just need to work out using that gym membership for good, not evil :0)

  3. Love the Chobani bluberry hat. Hang in there on the jobby job, everything happens for a reason bella. Wishing you all the best!

  4. Katherine: What About Summer? said:

    sending you hugs over the internet!

Leave a Reply

