Summer Salads

Happy Tuesday!

I hope you all had a great weekend and Monday! I was actually pretty busy this weekend, working all three days and dealing with a lot of other stuff. Now that it’s been consistently summer-like (um, minus the past three cloudy and cool days), light and refreshing have been the themes of my meals lately …

P6120248.JPG P6120249.JPG P6120247.JPG

I was craving Japanese for dinner, but being broke and having lots of Asian ingredients on hand left me with a HUGE and satisfying dinner! I broke up a whole heart of Romaine and topped with with leftover chopped cucumber, a few random slices of tomato and dressed it with Bolthouse Farms Asian Ginger dressingthe best. I also steamed up some shrimp and broccoli, sprayed with Bragg’s, doused in garlic powder and sprinkled with red pepper flakes.

I also heated up a packet of Trader Joe’s miso soup (why is a serving half a packet? Insanity) and added more steamed shrimp and broccoli. LOTS of good, nutritious food to fully satisfy my Asian craving :0)

Lunch at work one day was the best summer salad ever.

P6120262.JPG

In a Tupperware container, naturally. Bigger than it appears. Spring mix greens, sliced strawberries, a beet, and the star – goat cheese. Topped with plain old balsamic vinegar upon eating. That slice of millet was replaced with a whole wheat English muffin, which was gladly used to sop up leftover balsamic and any goat cheese crumbles that had managed to escape my eager fork.

Dinners have looked a lot like this …

P6130268.JPG

Roasted veggies + a crack-wrap. In this case, green beans, portobello, and tomatoes with a crack-wrap stuffed with roasted garlic hummus and plain Laughing Cow wedge. Last night’s came with the addition of roasted carrots and onions, and Frank’s to the wrap. No pic, but just as delicious. BTW, green beans go great with ketchup. Just FYI. And I eat them like fries. New obsession.

Other random eats:

P6120254.JPG

Yogurt mess with plain Chobani, old fashioned oats, a peach, and the later addition of nutmeg, inspired by this smart girl. Peach + nutmeg are meant to be.

P6140275.JPG P6140278.JPG

Thomas’ Better Start Whole Wheat English Muffin with a French Onion Laughing Cow wedge + a three-egg white puff topped with simple salt and pepper. WIth Green Mountain’s Blueberry coffee. Jenny had it right – blueberry coffee is amazing. I’ve also been loving Dunkin’s Roasted Almond flavor lately, but I’m definitely picking up GM’s Blueberry ASAP. I can’t wait to make iced coffee with it – soooo refreshing for summer! Plus, I love pairing sweet flavored coffees with savory breakfasts/snacks.

My Tuesday did not start off that great – after fasting all last night/this morning to get blood tests, not having any coffee, and waiting a LONG time was unpleasant, as I tweeted.

Picture 2.png

However, the blueberry coffee and egg sandwich seriously brightened my mood. Plus, I have to go back to the hospital a little later for an appointment I’m excited about (more later …) and – another round of blueberry coffee.

Currently Listening to: “I Want You” by Third Eye Blind. Such a great summer song. LOVE it and 3EB! What’s a song that reminds you of summer?
13 comments
  1. Kelsey said:

    Brynne these eats looks SO GOOD! especially the whole wheat english muffins with plump eggs whites!!!

    WOW

    oats, yogurt, and peach; now that sounds HEAVENLY!

    • Brynne said:

      Thanks girl! you’re too sweet :0)

  2. I can totally relate to being hungry and un-caffeinated waiting to get blood drawn. That’s the worst!! That’s why I always try to get it done first thing in the morning, but that’s not always a sure thing…

    That salad with strawberries and beets looks PHENOM! I love adding fruit to salads. Yum πŸ™‚

    • Brynne said:

      Ugh I know you can – it’s so awful! I went as soon as I woke up, but doctors are never fast :0(

  3. Katherine: What About Summer? said:

    Why are your foods always so much better looking than mine. I freak out when I get blood drawn; sorry to hear about it. I worked in a clinic and people would come in with their coffee and tell me all about how they couldn’t wait until after they were done with the appointment (it was a heart doctor) so they could drink it haha. I’ve always wondered about the blueberry coffee and have shied away from it- thanks for the recommendation of it!
    Katherine

    • Brynne said:

      I was always wary of the blueberry coffee too, since I’ve never been a fan of fruity teas – but I know PB & Jenny wouldn’t steer me the wrong way .. I ended up getting a second cup later. It was that good!

  4. Totally off topic, but I just saw in the sidebar you are going to HLS! I am SOOO jealous!! I wanted to get a ticket but then I wasn’t sure if I was up for the travel, etc, and by the time I came to my senses and went to buy one they were all out 😦 Now I am just super bummed.

    Back to the post, lol, I LOVE Japanese food (and I love making it at home as well!). Your food looks amazing but I can’t eat shrimp 😦

    • Brynne said:

      Boo I wish you were going! But maybe we can have a meet-up soon??

      OMG you can’t eat shrimp?!?! I seriously am so sorry – it is a hugeeee staple for me and sooo delish!

  5. You have SO MANY good eats! Miso soup, shrimp, strawberries, peaches, crack wraps…I want to eat this post πŸ™‚ Coldplay’s Viva La Vida always reminds me of the summer I graduated from high school, staying out all night and just loving life!

    • Brynne said:

      i think allll coldplay reminds me of summer too!

  6. Give it up for strawberry, beet & goat cheese salads – yum!

    The peach nutmeg combo is sounding mighty fantastic!

    Hope you have a great rest of your week : )

  7. Kate said:

    i love a good cup of miso soup! haven’t tried the tj’s version yet.

    i cannot handle getting blood drawn. i’ve fainted twice during the process 😦

    • Brynne said:

      the TJ’s version is pretty good for an instant packet! oh no! i’ve never fainted – i just hate it because they can never find a vein 😦

Leave a Reply

