Beach Getaway

I spent the past couple of days at my friend’s family’s house in the Hamptons (not as glamorous as it sounds, I promise.)

We laid out at the beach, drank margs (see previous post), ate Japanese (house salad, miso soup, brown rice rainbow roll), had some of the most ridiculous conversations ever, hot-tubbed it up, and genuinely enjoyed life.

With some adorable and delicious sweet shiraz, Michael Scott, and of course, Glee.  Love, love, loved it – but two songs does not a Gaga episode make.  However, it was still epic.  And Idina Menzel is a goddess.  Don’t try to tell me otherwise.  Oh, and half a 1-lb. bag of pretzels, with sharp cheddar and salsa.  Perfect night.

Today, before heading back to the field that is fair, we walked around downtown Southampton (adorable), grabbed iced coffee (delicious), and build-your-own salads for an on the go lunch.  Build-your-own-salad bars are the bomb.  My favorite.  Here we have mixed greens, broccoli, carrots, tomatoes, avocado, red onion, and roasted chicken in a citrus vinaigrette.  Delish and devoured.

Summer has definitely arrived.  The heat and humidity today was RIDICULOUS – but I’m so glad.  I hate being cold and I definitely need the warmth of summer.

Tomorrow’s eats are going to be interesting and completely new to me.  A new yoga studio/health center is opening up in the town I work in and when they do, they’ll have a juice bar and offer cleanses to clients for $50 a day.  We partner up with them for classes, and they offered us the chance to do a 1-day cleanse for free.  I figured I might as well try it after a few days of indulgence and since I have work all day tomorrow anyway.  I’ll drive down in the morning to pick up my 7 juices for the day (as well as an insulated Starbucks travel cup?  Probs.) and then I have work from 12-6.  I also definitely want to hit up yoga at some point.

Since the heat/pound of pretzels, cheese, and wine still keeping my stomach company has left me with a huge lack of appetite today, it’s definitely possible I will be way too hungry to just drink my juices all day tomorrow.  No big – if I get too hungry, I’m going to eat.  I think I can also have green tea and water all day.

Have you ever done a cleanse before?  How was it?

What did you think of the Gaga-themed Glee? I missed Sue!

2 comments
  1. janetha said:

    that has to be the most awesome wine bottle EVER! it looks like JAM?! so rad. and i have done the isagenix cleanse a few times in my past. while it definitely WORKS.. it is so not worth it! not eating is miserable! thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂 xo

    • Brynne said:

      I know isn’t it so so cute! The wine was sweet enough (but not too much) and fruity – like jam! I really think I’m going to end up eating but it’s FREE and just something I want to try once, you know?

Leave a Reply

