Millet es Muy Bueno

This morning my alarm went off at seven.  Yesterday, I took a day off from working out, as I was a bit sore from four miles and power yoga on Friday.  While relaxing and a glorious part of summer, literally laying in bed watching TV all day really does nothing to tire me out at my normal grandmotherly 10pm bedtime.  I set my alarm for seven in the off chance I would feel like hopping out of bed and heading out on a run.  Sleep at 2am = no running at 7.  Of course, I didn’t bother resetting it and woke up at 8:30.  I had to be at work at 10.  Bye bye, breakfast dreams of healthy homefries and soft-boiled eggs.

Who did I look to for a quick inspiration?  Gina, aka The Fitnessista!

A three-egg white puff with TJ’s sea salt, pepper, and Cholula + a piece of Food for Life millet toast with TJ’s organic strawberry preserves.

If you read The Fitnessista (and you should be!), you know that egg puffs and millet bread are staples in Gina’s breakfast and snacking rotations.  Although I microwaved eggs before starting to read her blog, calling it a “puff” sounds so much cuter – and is totally accurate!

The millet toast, however, was completely Gina inspired.  I’d been curious about it for so long since she constantly raves about it.  Sweet, dense, chewy, delicious.  I was pretty surprised about how small the pieces were, but its density really makes up for it.  Really, good enough to justify the $6 price tag – even for a recent college grad who is only employed part time.

Work today was great – so much fun!  I seriously love my job.  I only wish I worked more hours.  The next two weeks I’m only working one day – eek!  I’m definitely going to be looking for another part time job soon – maybe hostessing?  We’ll see.

Lunch at work was boring and packed in a hurry – peach Chobani with MultiGrain Cheerios and flax seeds.  Didn’t hold me over long at all.  I NEED veggies at lunch and we had NONE in the house so I had to make due.  After work, I headed home, ate a mini Clif Mountain Mix bar (my favorite!) and headed out for a run.  I intended to do four, but ended up feeling so good I ran six!

Dinner was pretty, but pretty boring.

Steamed shrimp, carrots, zucchini, and broccolini with garlic powder and Bragg’s Liquid Aminos.

Apparently I don’t like broccolini 😦  I picked it out and added the last of my sugar snap peas, some garlic hummus and horseradish.  Still boring.  The fuji I housed after was the highlight – apples are such a staple for me!

Off to go make some popcorn, just like every other night.  It’s an addiction.  Sometimes I eat two bowls for dinner.  No one’s perfect.

What’s your favorite nighttime snack? Give me some ideas to mix up my routine!

3 comments
  1. Katherine: What About Summer? said:

    no one said that two bowls of popcorn is bad… I am an addict too!

  2. Steph said:

    Your blog is cute! My fav nighttime snack is ezekial with almond butter cinnamon and honey smeared on top!

  3. Isn’t millet bread amazing?! I got a loaf last week and have been eating a slice or two almost every day. I’m not completely gluten free, but I truly PREFER the taste/texture of millet bread to wheat!

Leave a Reply

