First post & Eating Bender’s Humbecue!

Hey all!  Welcome to my blog :0)

First, a little bit about me.  I’ve started Graduate Gourmande as a way to document this new stage of my life as a college grad and everything it entails, mainly learning how to cook.  I discovered healthy living blogs about a year ago when I was starting to work out and eat healthier.  Inspired by my upcoming attendance at the Healthy Living Summit (thanks to my ticket winning from Hangry Pants!) I decided to start a blog of my own!

I’ll be testing delicious recipes I find around the blogworld and concoct on my own, as well as providing foodie product reviews, health and fitness tidbits, documenting my workouts, and probably much more!

So what’s first?  Inspired by Jenny‘s latest meal, I wanted tuna today too.  Usually I mix with a wedge of Laughing Cow or some hummus.  I felt like mixing it up a bit and remembered something I’ve been meaning to try – Jenn of Eating Bender‘s Humbecue!  What is Humbecue you ask?  Is it worthy enough of a capital “H”?  Well, yes, I would say that the mixture of hummus and barbecue sauce is an epic combo.

I started off with a Joseph’s high fiber tortilla and a couple pieces of Bibb lettuce that I thought looked really pretty in the sunlight.  Clearly I should start saving up for a real camera as my trusty Olympus doesn’t convey the crisp green color as well as say, a Sony Cybershot would.

I mixed a tablespoon each of my hummus and barbecue sauce of choice (Cedar’s Garlic – favorite hummus ever – and Naturally Delicious all natural barbecue sauce) with a packet of Bumble Bee Chunk Light Tuna and plopped it on:

Tuna: delicious, yes; photogenic, no.

I wrapped it all up and paired my humbecue tuna with a sliced fuji apple, sprinkled with cinnamon.  I also had a glass of iced lemon ginger green tea (a la Yogi Tea) with some NuStevia.

The Humbecue verdict?  So good!  You might not think that barbecue and tuna go together, but the sweet and tangy sauce paired with creamy hummus and savory tuna are a really great mix!  Next time I’ll probably add a Laughing Cow wedge for some added deliciousness.

For the iced tea, I boiled a cup of water and steeped six bags of tea in it for about ten minutes, then added three cups of cold water.  Cool in the fridge or serve with ice cubes for immediate refreshment :0)

6 comments
  1. Hi Brynne! Congratulations on starting your very own blog. When I saw your tweet, I was honestly so honored to be featured in your very first post. With my favorite Humbecue, no less! I love the thought of adding some Laughing Cow cheese. Would it then be called Humbecow? One can only imagine the nerdy possibilities I could come up with…

    I have no doubt that you will be a fantastic blogger 🙂 Can’t wait to follow along and see where life takes you. Enjoy every moment – it’s a crazy (but fun) ride!

    Can’t wait to meet you at the HLS, too!

    • Brynne said:

      Haha I love it – Humbecow! I’m sure I’ll be experimenting with that combo soon! Thanks so much for your kind comment :0) Can’t wait for HLS!

  2. Mary said:

    Hey Brynne!

    I found your other blog right before you took a break, and I’m so glad you’re back 🙂

    I don’t have a blog but am a maaajjorr lurker hahhaha- I’m from CT too. I caught your reference to Stew Leonard’s in your “about me” section…best.store.ever!! I know it’s dorky, but I love when a blogger goes to the same store/restaurant/place/vacation that I’ve gone to- it’s fun reading about how they experience it.

    Yayyy well I look forward to reading your posts this summer!

    Mary

    • Brynne said:

      Aww thanks so much Mary! Stew Leonard’s is definitely one of my favorite stores! It is such a comfort place for me – I know exactly what you mean about getting excited over seeing a blogger goes to the same spots you do! I’m so happy you commented :0)

  3. Daisy said:

    welcome to the blog world 🙂 your blog looks great! love the humbecue concoction!

Leave a Reply

