Ethel the Lonely Penguin

Yup, I went there. After two years of reading about “green monsters” on healthy living blogs, I finally did it. Bought protein powder, brought out the blender, and mixed vegetables and fruit. For breakfast.

  P1000125.JPG

In my smoothie:

  • 2 cups of baby spinach
  • 1/3 cup of Greek yogurt
  • 2 cups of strawberries
  • 1 packet Jay Robb Whey protein, vanilla flavored
  • 8ish ice cubes
  • about 1 teaspoons of vanilla extract

P1000126.JPG P1000127.JPG

Verdict? Delicious! I really couldn’t taste the spinach at all – just strawberry-vanilla deliciousness.

I also made a strawberry banana one a few days ago and am excited to try out the chocolate flavors I picked up too.

Last Monday, my day off, I headed into the city to meet up with my friend Sarah. What are two twenty-something girls to do in the city on a warm summer day? Clearly, go to the zoo. Well, first we stopped at Chickpea for that 3pm meal of pita, hummus, and tahini. There were vegetables too, but clearly lack importance compared to the others.

We set out for the Central Park Zoo. Too bad we were entirely unsure where in the park the zoo is. So we followed Sarah’s iPhone directions the best we could and just strolled along the way.

P1000129.JPG

Some highlights included:

P1000132.JPG

Awesome polar bear.

P1000134.JPG

Wearing my sandals.

P1000135.JPG

The stork that brought Sarah to this earth and dropped her at the zoo.

P1000138.JPG

Snow leopard – so pretty! And creepily looking directly at me …

P1000144.JPG

Piranha

P1000162.JPG

This penguin was standing by itself staring at the wall for the entire ohhh, twenty minutes? we were in penguin section. We named her Ethel. She’s our special friend.

We met another friend, Jenny from the Blog, for a stroll and some dinner. We stopped at Columbus Tavern and LOVED it! Sarah and I split the artichoke appetizer – they were roasted and had parmesan and some other delicious goodies on there. Must recreate! Oh, and then I had some salad, which was basically a vehicle for goat cheese, as most things are these days. This recipe looks good …

2 comments

Leave a comment